December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dastardly Diver

by Spierek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a dastardly evil villain, so it's only natural that you would do dastardly things... right? You might say, that detonating a bomb is really evil. Detonating a bomb in a zoo - delightfully evil. But what could have even more impact?

Well, climbing into a submarine, going down to the very bottom of the Mariana Trench (which, coincidentally, houses an impressive collection of post-WW2 sea mines) and detonating a giant bomb, thus damaging the Earth's core and destroying the whole planet. Impact, I say.

Controls: arrows for moving, Shift for focused movement.
Press Escape anywhere to close the game.

For Linux users (64bit only), you probably need sufficient *.so files for SFML2 - grab them here: http://www.sfml-dev.org/download/2.0-rc/SFML-2.0-rc-linux-64.tar.bz2

Linux version was prepared by #sfml's iostream. Many thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#129Audio3.16
#140Graphics3.61
#186Fun3.22
#259Overall3.18
#298Mood2.91
#340Humor2.61
#449Innovation2.67
#553Theme2.76

Comments

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:37am

Loved the music! Collision box on the submarine felt larger than it looked, my only complaint.

misson20000 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47am

I downloaded the linux version, extracted it, and there is a windows executable in it. No obvious linux executables. I tried running 0b08555234_dastardlydiver, but it's not an executable. Am I supposed to use wine on the windows exe?

netgrind says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:02am

It said I was missing MSVCR110.dll so I couldn't run the game. I have 64bit Windows 7

kerneltrick says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:09am

not playable as msvcr110.dll is not included.

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:20am

It didn't really feel new but it sure was fun

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:53am

Can't play on Windows XP 32-bit
says it's not a valid 32-bit executable

tnch4_ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:13am

same problem as Felix20 :(

namuol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:43am

You should consider statically-linking the Visual Studio DLL with the project since a lot of people won't have it on their system. I can't seem to figure out what I need to make it work on my system... It looks great, though; I want to play!

Feel free to leave a shout on my game's page if you find a fix so I can play!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:51am

Same problem with the MSVCR110.dll; This is my work computer so I can't install it at the moment either. I'll play it at home though~!

madpew says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:13am

Good game, collisions are a bit annoying because the submarine is a box instead of a circle (I guess?). Loved the mechanic of the surroundings getting darker. Some more fx (audio and graphics) would have been nice.

SkyWolf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41am

You should really include the dlls needed, here i was missing some as well.

mokujin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47am

Cool graphics and music. Pretty simple gameplay, but i like it)

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:11am

@madpew - actually, all of the hitboxes are circles. It's probably the sprites, not exactly representing the hitboxes.

@SkyWolf - I wish the fix was as simple as including that DLL. Unfortunately it's way more complicated.

I've wasted the entire morning trying to find a fix, almost managed to do it, but it still won't work. I'll keep looking, but for now, I can't provide a fix :C

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:45pm

sorry, same here
says it's not a valid 32 bit windows program
I would guess my C++ runtime would be up to date, so I'm guessing, 64 bit problem?

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:22pm

Thanks to rbanke on the NeoGAF Forums, I've found a fix to the "MSVCR110.dll not included" problem (required two more files). I've updated the Windows link with a proper archive.

vidarn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:28pm

Awesome!
The music and visuals were superb and gave the whole game a great atmosphere.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:02pm

The controls feel very hard and squarish, maybe you could have made them a bit more floaty? The overall aesthetic is really cool though, especially when you get deep down ;)

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07pm

@BarrensZeppelin - I actually intended to do that (adding momentum to the movement, since you're underwater), but there wasn't enough time :( Good to hear you liked it, though.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:45pm

Nice gameplay, music and graphics, shame about the Deus ex machina, though.

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10pm

Very Polished/polished :)

pzdr.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:21am

This was quite the shiny ^.^

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:06pm

Loved the way the game got darker as I got deeper, a nice touch. I agree, the controls could have done with a little bit of inertia, also I was disappointed when I made it to the bottom and there was no huge bang!

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Fun game, nice presentation.

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:16am

Why do you want to put a bomb in a place FILLED with mines ? Just blow any mine and start a chain reaction. :p

Anyway, cool effect with the lighting slowly reducing and forcing to look for the mine's light, that was nice.
The hit box of the mine seemed larger than their sprite.
Is there an ending or is the goal to get the highest score ?

doos says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Wow, I really loved this.. Loved how the lights on the mines were the only thing I could see at depth, really upped the ante. Impressive work!

PS, was fine on xp 64bit.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:00pm

There a situations where you can't pass through without getting damaged by a mine. That is a bit frustrating. The game is simple, but it works. Anyway, the visuals are lovely and the background music is great.

AdricZero says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Liked it. Wished I had more armor though. Worked for me on Windows-64 bit.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]