December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

(Don't) Save Christmas

by infernet89 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Santa is in trouble, and need YOU to save Christmas!

And you don't want to.
You are the problem.

(Click to shoot, that's all)

Too difficult? Obviously is too difficult. Game for the villain is always harder than for the Good Side.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#101Audio3.30
#226Theme3.51
#247Humor2.89
#447Mood2.64
#511Overall2.73
#537Fun2.49
#538Graphics2.48
#698Innovation2.08

Comments

Tate says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:45am

Great job! Sticking with the holiday season as well is a nice touch.

solidplasma says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:08am

I like it! The aesthetic is very nice.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:17am

I love the end screen - what a clever way to lose!

HBurd says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:18am

I loved the music, but for some reason I'm guessing it wasn't made within the 48 hours.

Robotic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:23am

I love the music, very soothing

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:42am

I haven't played missle command in forever. xD

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43am

Music was really nice, got a bit surprised when huge amounts of santas suddenly appeared though.

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50am

Really fun concept about the theme, gameplay is a bit too slow .
Btw good job.

dcolgan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:56am

Hahaha - I laughed out loud when I played this game. Full marks for humor and theme tie in, as well as nice music.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:11am

Lol! Very well done :)

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:23am

Fun. Change in difficulty midway through was kind of jarring. Like the theme and setting.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:23am

...nice little game! well done :)

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:40am

Very hard. But music kicks ass!

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:11am

Nice twist on a classic.
Makes you think who you were shooting down in the original Missile Command...

Xymostech says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:25am

I agree with @cwilloughby. It was going well and then BAM and I practically jumped. Other than that, a nice LD remake of the classic!

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:40am

Not very easy the first minute, but good game. :)

Lidfrid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:09am

Good Job :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:13am

Took it's time to download but it was worth the weight, I enjoy it's classic play that remined me of other flash type games.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:36am

Well, it's an okay missile defence clone. Wish there was more to it than that though.

ratking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10am

Santa sure is hard to kill.

Polar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:11am

Only problem was that the difficulty change half-way through is a shock :)

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Good, for a missile defence code.

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:12pm

Mh. Not sure what to say here. You made a solid game, that's for sure. But it is so hard to play. I would suggest it needs way more balancing. Sometimes I had to wait forever to be able to shoot again and in this time there were a lot of santas I just couldn't get rid of.
Also although the music is really good, I'm not sure if it is really done within these 48 hours.

Nice job finishing something. Now go and polish the hell out of it

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:57pm

Nice game. Reload time was a bit off which made it really hard. With some cleanup and balancing this could be great.

AlexFili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Seems like a decent game, the graphics and music are great. It takes quite a while for the laser to travel, and the target can be missed easily. The lack of explosion sound effects is a bit strange too. Overall though, fantastic idea!

AlexFili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:19pm

Has promise but a few flaws

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:53pm

Fits the theme really well! And it's perfect for the Xmas season, too. I really like the music but I didn't like how the difficulty grew up after one minute making me lose in seconds and killing the lots of fun I was having. An higher fire rate could have saved it.
PS: I made a Missile Command clone, too!

Volpes says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:33pm

Loves how the game suddenly gets insanely hard without warning and the music changing accordingly!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Great music :)

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:48pm

Nice game. Great music and good match to the theme.

tomvert says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:57pm

Yes it's very hard !

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47pm

Nice game, well done! Agree with the other comments that the music is lovely! Took a while to get used to the gun though - the cooldown seemed to take too long for me.

Sestren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:45pm

The music was awesome, with a very nice use of transition. Fun and challenging game.

wzl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:14am

Nice evil game. I like the narrative :D

Also i wrote a mini review: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#infernet89
Want me to link your use someplace?

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:58pm

While the gameplay was a bit dull, the idea in general and the end screen was really clever, also, the sudden santa spam along with the music was just awesome.

leafo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:28am

The surprise at the end was good.

SeanAtr0n says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:51am

Awesome music, I played through a few times just to hear more of the 2nd track.

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:11am

Very cool music! I liked that when the music picked up, a lot of santas appeared at the same time -- timing the music tempo with the game tempo was great.

While I like these kind of shooting games, I found yours a little difficult to control. It was not clear to me when was the cooldown for the weapon -- was it when the explosion ended? I could never tell when I could shoot again. Maybe you should improve on that somehow?

Thanks for the game!

tim_u says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:30am

I enjoyed the humor but the gameplay was awkward. The shots and explosions went rather slow and the gun gave no indication of its status. (reloading etc....) Otherwise, I liked the idea of loosing by making kids happy.

infernet89 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:16pm

@tim_u: There is actually an indicator for the weapon status, it's under it. Every little rectangle totally black means an ammo ready. A rectangle fading in is an ammo reloading.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:33pm

The story is good so does the humor but when the game begun every thing seemed normal ,the graphics was good but very simple when in the game , nice ending though, keep on

goerp says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:23pm

Ha, I like the text when I lose.
Also love your progress indicator.
The music was good (although LOUD).
So maybe not the most original entry, but lots of fun!

Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:30pm

The cooldown indicator would have worked better as a progress bar, it is difficult to judge when the rectangle is blackish or black. The sudden wave of Santas and music change was amusing, but made gameplay jarring. The weapon cooldown could possibly work better if it was a static amount of time, and not the duration of the previous shot. Taking a shot near the top of the screen disables you long enough to miss multiple santas. An amusing game though.

LogGiant says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:30pm

I really liked this game. The music was fantastic! I thought it got a little easier when the santa swarm came just because their explosions would destroy other santas, creating a chain reaction of exploding santas! Well done!

sauronz says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:54pm

very nice game, I like the concept a lot. I found it a bit hard to play though, I wish i could fire a lot faster without having to wait so long. And I actually find funny how suddently lots of santas appear :) Music is also fine, love the sudden change. Ending screen it's funny :) If you could polish this I would play more

AyCe says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:17pm

Cool game, I especially liked the music!

impulse9 says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Nicely done! I loved the track and the music switch at the end of the game. Laser was kind of laggy, which was a bit frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]