December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Mordor Must Resist!

by ArkadyDracul - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are Sauron and you have to face the army of humans, hobbits, wizards and eagles that are coming to destroy you! Take careful aim and fire, let them explode in a cloud of blood! YOU ARE THE AWESOME VILLAIN!

[CONTROLS]
Navigate the menu - Arrows and Enter to confirm.
In the game - Aim with the mouse and shoot with the left mouse button.
----------------
[ADDED CONTROLS IN V2.0 - POSTCOMPO]
- Auto fire (no need to spam the left mouse button)
+ Highscore board implemented (Each player can challenge your friends at home or, as I do, work colleagues)
+ Spells: Added 4 spells: 3 unlockable to the score of 650/2000/4500.
- [D] Spell 1: Arrows (orc archers will shoot two arrows to hit the eagles coming from above)
- [F] Spell 2: Trolls (2 large trolls come out from the tower that will kill the first 10 enemy units that will be on their way)
- [G] Spell 3: Meteors (A meteor shower will wipe out a large number of incoming enemies)
- [H] Spell 4: Heal (The tower will regenerate 30% of his life)

Enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#82Theme3.87
#192Fun3.21
#225Graphics3.31
#245Mood3.00
#288Overall3.13
#312Humor2.69
#317Audio2.56
#637Innovation2.26

Comments

Razion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:52am

Despite the questionable copyright, pretty fun albeit quite repetitive. Good job! I like the art.

Deril says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:52am

Well done! I wish mordor had MORE powers... :) fire balls... lasers.. meteor showers... :)

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:41am

This was really fun!

The graphics were stylistically great; it was always obvious who the units were meant to be, and the actual physics were really nice. I really enjoy velocity prediction so this was perfect for that.

Nice one.

Ardale says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:09am

Good entry! But mordor is destined to fall, it's too weak!:)

metadept says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:43pm

Hobbits are truly fearsome enemies! Their shortness is supreme.

jurnacsr says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Fun little game right here - The graphics were really well done. Some more powers would be nice, and damn when the enemies start coming they never stop!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:46pm

The game is well balanced. The waves get greater and greater. However it wears out pretty fast, should have more powers

Pitoum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Pretty cool. A bit hard maybe!

Markavian says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:51am

Tidy game, but no strategy, just lots of clicking. Could have done with more evilness mechanics.

Grouflon says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:09pm

I have always dreamt of one-shotting Gandalf, thank your for that :D

atraxgames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:35pm

Liked the LOTR theme. Well done!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Grrrreat :)

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:18am

Thanks for the comments, as requested by many, I added the link to the zip (no installer) and the GM export file with an extension .Gmz rather than the zipped project folder. Sorry for the inconvenience

caranha says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:12pm

Heh, I have a weak spots for games that go "pew pew pew", and the pews in your game were really satisfying :-) Although I must complain about your decision to require frequent clicking - My wrist was hurting after playing your game twice. It would have been better if I could just hold the button to keep shooting.

I liked the graphics. The horses were kinda bad, but the people and the eagles were nice.

It would be nice if your game stored the best scores in a session, so that the player would know if he was improving or not. BTW, I got about 1200. Not such a great score, I guess.

On an aside, have you ever heard of the book "The Last Ringbearer"? It is a retelling of Lord of The Rings, with the point of view that Mordor were actually the good guys :-)

Cheers!

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:47pm

Go Mordor, go! Kill these f@#ç£%& Hobbits! I wish I have an autofire mode, my index finger is totally KO! :)

ceronman says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:12pm

Wow this is one of the best I've played so far. Very nice. Great fun, great graphics, animations and sound! well done! thanks for participating!

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:45am

I liked the graphics of the attackers. Would have been cool to have weapon upgrades or minions to send out, but I think it is pretty obvious that you'll eventually be overrun.

juaxix says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Wow, there are few really badasses like the Eye :)

epiplon says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:06pm

So many Gandalfs...
But I loved the stylish graphics. You did it really good.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:08pm

I'll try this later.. In the meantime, don't you think you rated our game a bit brashly?.. I mean.. 1 for everything except graphics.. That's a score I reserve for only the most broken games and ours definitely isn't. In any case some sort of explanation as to why you hate it so much would be really helpful, even if you've made up your mind..

Cheers,
Rob

schnerble says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Quite cool :) Nice work: graphics are good, and the sound works well. Gameplay is a bit limited, and when you start getting hit it's generally because you're overwhelmed so you don't last long - but it's a good entry.

goerp says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:54pm

The eye is great and a good choice of villain. Also agree that the heroes are good recognizable, but the game could use a goal, that there is hope for evil to destroy good, forever.
Something like that. You always get overwhelmed after a while.
Not that my game had an end, I didnt have enough time for that as well ;-)

TehSkull says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:31pm

Loved the idea :) Mouse finger got a little tired as the game went on though. Maybe either try reducing the amount of enemies early on, or increasing the shooting speed of Sauron. All in all though a fun game.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:18am

FYI, you have to create all game content within the period yourself, so taking images like the volcanos and sky seems kinda cheating.

I can't play this game on my mac, so I won't rate it, but that's my feedback.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]