About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 0 hours, 0 minutes, 15 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 0 hours, 12 minutes, 15 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 1 hour, 0 minutes, 15 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    You naughty beast! - goerp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    =======
    Please try the post-compo Christmas edition after you tried the compo one.
    It's easier, has more sounds, updated graphics, eating and drinking and is what I intended to do (and much more fun I think).
    ========

    This evil little cow has doomed the earth!

    Or maybe not?

    There are instructions in the intro, but its a bit of a Chinese jugler kind of game: you have to balance defending the trees, growing the trees, eating and drinking for the growing (in the post compo one). It can get pretty hectic and I meant it to be that way (only not as much as in the compo version).

    The best way to start is to defend a single tree or trees close to another. Trees keep on sucking Co2 from the air, the larger the tree the more they absorb C02.
    Hint: you can charge the birds out of the game, before they land, but don't miss: the charge can not be interrupted.

    Controls are all over the place in the compo edition:
    Left and Right for moving, 'P' for Peeing, 'S' for Pooing, and 'C' for Charging (as in Charge!).

    In the post-compo Christmas Edition:
    Left and Right for moving, UP for Peeing, DOWN for Pooing, and 'C' for Charging (as in Charge!).
    You can use 'X' for eating and 'Z'for drinking, but only in the Christmas Edition.

    There is a score, but sadly the winning condition is only in the Post-compo.

    Oh yeah: you have to defend the trees from enemies, not plants (typo).

    View goerp's journal. | View all entries by goerp

    Ratings

    Coolness96%
    #86Humor3.47
    #235Innovation3.15
    #338Audio2.50
    #448Fun2.67
    #456Graphics2.73
    #465Overall2.80
    #498Mood2.54
    #543Theme2.79

    Comments

    Prelucid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:22am

    Pretty good, I can see it being fun with a lot of polish in controls and graphics.

    GameRespect says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38am

    The controls (pee, poop and charge) are a little too far apart, but other than that, it's a great concept!

    munchor says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

    Charging on birds is so fun!

    foksa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:40pm

    Conrolls are to far away, but nice idea, and fun game

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:25pm

    Pretty entertaining, but really difficult! I could barely take a single crap without the birds eating all the plants.
    Also agree that the S/P/C controls are too far apart.

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:37am

    I peed and pooped, but the birds ate all my trees!

    ananasblau says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:34am

    Amazing, a cow that doesn't eat anything but shits all the time.

    TijmenTio says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:33pm

    Really had to laugh at the title screen haha.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:41pm

    Pretty funny, hindered by insane control placement though and big gaps where I felt like I had nothing to do.

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:51pm

    The birds at the beginning ate everything before I could figure out what I was doing. Then I only had one plant left and it grew into a tree, and I could defend it against anyone. But guys with chainsaws just kept coming, and it wasn't very challenging at that point.

    goerp says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:03pm

    ah, all good and fair comments. I have a lot of options to tweak difficulty, but ran out of time to implement.
    I didn't realise how hard the beginning was, because by the time I 'finished', I had played it A LOT. The controls were also not thought trough.
    And people playing all those game don't try to get better at a game that isn't that thrilling.

    Anyway, I finally had some time (between playing games) to do what I wanted to do with the game. Tomorrow I will do an update (especially for christmas!) so people can also see what game I intended to make.
    And then do a postmortem.

    Yakka says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:59am

    Too much birds! But I love this pooping cow :-D

    vids says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:00pm

    What a great idea, it would've been a lot of fun if it was executed better though. Nice take on the theme!

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:29am

    Seems like I am the hero rather than the villain.

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:02pm

    Very funny, keep doing great...

    pl0xz0rz says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:34pm

    Pretty good indeed.

    SuperDisk says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:41pm

    Controls were awful. But it was a neat concept. Dunno how I felt about defecating on plants though :P

    JaJ says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:06pm

    Game starts out very hard and once the first tree has grown comes to a point where you can't even lose anymore. I would have made the birds the easiest enemies, not the hardest. The concept is nice, but somehow I feel it fits "end of the world" better than "you are the villain".

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]