December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Hero Beat ME!

by theGiallo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game Title: Hero Beat ME!
Author: Gianluca 'theGiallo' Alloisio
LudumDare #25 entry
Date: 17 December 2012

Platform: linux x86_64, Windows

Coded in C++ using OpenGL.

Windows and MAC OSx:
For non-linux users: I've tested it on a virtual machine with Ubuntu 12.10 (64bit) live CD and it ran well. You can download the iso and burn it or just make a virtual machine with VirtualBox and load it!
The source should compile under Windows, but I sadly had no time to try to port it, maybe I'll have time and I'll try to.

Description:

The games is multiplayer, 2 players on the same keyboard.
They control 2 guys (anybody is a colored cube),
they can move around, do things to other people and stun eachother.
Actions on other people make evilness increase, stun the rival makes it decrease.
There's a count down, at whitch end will come TheHero, to fight the evilest guy, the Villain, and purify anybody, then he will go away and come back after another period. The Villain gets a bouns, the evilness goes into points.
The more evil players are most points they get at the Hero arrival, but be careful, it's possible to become good people stunning too much the rival!

The game has no end. You could establish a number of Hero arrivals before start playing.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Actions:

There are 3 types of actions:
Throw a granny, steal a lollypop to a child or fart. Be careful because you could stun yourself farting all alone!


-----------------------------------------------------------------------
The Cubes are:

Gray: granny
Cyan: boy
Magenta: girl
Brown: man
Blue: woman

Red: player 1
Green: player 2

Gold: The Hero

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Commands:

Player 1

Movement WASD
Action Q
Stun E

Player 2

Movement IJKL
Action U
Stun O


-----------------------------------------------------------------------
How to run:
Linux:
open a terminal and launch the launcher!

Windows:
run HeroBeatME!.exe

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
!! IMPORTANT !!
For linux users:
If it tells you that cannot open some .so please tell me and I'll add it to the zip.

Contact: @theGiallo on Twitter, and generally the Internet :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#332Innovation2.93
#376Humor2.50
#483Theme2.93
#594Fun2.31
#614Mood2.27
#698Graphics1.94
#701Overall2.25

Comments

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:01pm

Can't play linux games :-(

oldtopman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:05pm

I think you forgot to post your source.

TheCze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Too bad it's only Linux

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:17pm

The program doesn't start on Ubuntu 12.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Can't play on Linux I'm afraid. Will check back later to see if there is a port.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:11pm

Same for me, linux only is a big problem in ld!

pythong says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:14pm

please add some executables o.O. And quick! you're losing votes

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:20pm

Couldn't find libfreesound.so.3 , and it's not in my system repositories, so you should staticly link it or include a dynamic link library.

epiplon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:30pm

Can't run ou game, sorry. There is an error on the .sh file.

kewry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:45pm

Can't play on Linux. :<

xandrew says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:55am

Works perfectly for me (Ubuntu 12.04.1). Interesting (and slightly funny) game...


If you put up the source code then perhaps someone might be able to port it for you?

theGiallo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:19pm

I've just uploaded the source code to my git repository https://bitbucket.org/theGiallo/opengl_secondproject.

@zenmumbler: what does it says?

@Gazok: I do not have that library o.O and google gives me only a page of results searching "libfreesound", this is strange. What distro are you using?

@epiplon: An error? What error? Please tell me! I'll try to correct it!


For people who can't run linux games:
It should be compilable with VS, I had no time to try to port it. If I'll have I'll try. Meanwhile it runs perfectly on a live CD of Ubuntu 12.10 (I've tested it on a virtual machine), so, for this game and others, give it a try!


@xandrew: Thank you. To make a multiplayer game without testing its gameplay is difficult and dangerous :P and it's dependent on the quality of the keyboard, but I wanted to experiment and to risk (^_^)

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Interesting game. It's a nice and original idea. It would have been nice to have some simple sprites instead of just squares, it's hard to know what's exactly going on and to remember what color of cube is what kind of person. Some feedback sound would have been nice too.

theGiallo says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:28pm

@ceronman: I completely agree, I hadn't integrated OpenAL and I had no time to make come sprites, because I spent 7h~ to try to compile it statically *facepalm*

I've just installed VS2012, I'll try to compile it for windows :)

theGiallo says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:34pm

There it is! Windows version!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Funny little thing here :D. Making noises so bad they stun even yourself was pretty darn fun.

theGiallo says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:28pm

@Neonlare: thank you! :D

Beanalby says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:54pm

Trying to run gives a single MessageBox:

"The program can't start because MSVCP110.dll is missing from your computer."

Win7 SP1 x64

theGiallo says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:26am

@Beanably: oh yes, you have to install VC++Redist2012 http://www.microsoft.com/it-it/download/details.aspx?id=30679

Beanalby says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:27pm

After installing the redist, running opens a white window that hangs with hourglass, eats 100% cpu. Last lines of console show
base font list = 1
font texID = 1 isTexture: yes type GL_RGBA

Maikeroppi says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Sorry, couldn't run this one. Seemed to start, but hung with a white window popping up. Put the following out to the console:

OpenGL 1.3 supported
GLEW 1.3 supported
OpenGL 2.1
OpenGL 4.0
Ready for OpenGL 2.0
loading texture: ./resources/fonts/LiberationMono16.png
postfor
Texture::load file_path: ./resources/fonts/LiberationMono16.png
preunload
post load
pre isstored
prestoreanyway
no error
base font list = 1
font texID = 1 isTexture: yes type GL_RGBA

theGiallo says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Hmm... it's strange. I've tested it on another pc, and it had a bug: no world limitators. :|

Try to install the VC++Redist2010 and the VC++Redist2010Update too.

Thank you for reporting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]