December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Delve Deeply

by belk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This turned out to be a sandbox-type game where you have the ability to change the landscape, and spawn zombies!
The original goal was to create a tower defense map, but the time it took to create all the art assets, create and code mobs, and implement an A* pathing algorithm ate up the time I needed to make a proper tower defense.
You can kindof do it if you pick a spot, build a fortress, set the target destination and spawn zombies around the outside of it!
Zombies are damaged by spikes, and if you kill one you're a good guy again!

Hope you guys have fun messing with it, and I can't wait to see your games!

Source is included in the jar.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1150Coolness10%

Comments

gigimoi00 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:55am

"Could not find the main class" error message on launch.

jurnacsr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:23am

No errors on launch - but I don't quite understand how to play.

jurnacsr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:25am

To clarify - I can just spawn zombies. How do I do anything else?

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:43am

"Could not find the main class: com.belk.dg.Game" error message on launch.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:05am

Works fine on Mac, no error messages. But how is this even a game? There's no goal whatsoever, you've got unlimited gold and you can't seem to be able to die :/

belk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Just a note, if you get the "Could not find the main class" error, try running it from the command line:
java -jar DelveDeeply.jar

All you can really do is spawn new blocks, set the target location for spawned zombies, and spawn zombies on your location. Like I said, it's just sandboxy at the moment, not really a game

belk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12pm

Oh, one important note for anyone who didn't get it. WASD keys to move around.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:17am

Got it to run, but no, it's not a game yet.
Some interesting tech here, but nothing really works.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:19am

Classic graphic styling and gameplay. I wish there was actual "gameplay" to it though, and not just walking around with buildings and skeletons.

Norgg says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:17pm

Ran for me, put some lava around the place.

jhrrsn says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:32am

Interesting idea, but as you've stated there isn't a lot to do at the moment. I'd love to see a finished version at some point!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]