December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Grand Theft Crimbo

by Rob - Jam Entry

Team RobKat Presents Grand Theft Crimbo

Santa not nice to Elf, Santa not nice at all, Elf gonna get revenge. Steal the presents, Take presents to lair, Avoid Police.

Become the best Crimbo Wrecker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#163Theme(Jam)3.29
#170Humor(Jam)2.56
#219Audio(Jam)2.26
#242Mood(Jam)2.50
#262Innovation(Jam)2.39
#272Fun(Jam)2.26
#278Graphics(Jam)2.39
#303Overall(Jam)2.28

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:21pm

Nice game. Took me awhile to figure out how to unload the first gift.

jerrre says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:51pm

Got stuck with the car on the roof and later on I got stuck inside

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:52pm

:)

Would be nice with a post compo version where you can do various mean things in houses like steal from fridges and open taps and leave windows open and so on for extra points

Pierrec says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:56pm

I really love the idea!
Too bad the game is very glitchy (but I'm sure it can be fixed easily)

Rob says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:04pm

Yeah sorry guys for the bugs, had to ignore them to get finished, thanks for the comments, were definately doing a post compo and as soon as its ready we will let the LD community know :D

Sanguine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:48pm

I like the story!

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:54pm

Tip: you have to get off the sleigh before entering the house.

cute game anyway

joekinley says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:40pm

What a weird game. The art was weird but kinda fun. At first it took me a while to figure out what to do, but then it was kinda weird/fun-ish.
I liked the graphics a lot and the overal idea. It was though a bit hard to navigate properly. Good work though =)

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:40pm

Cute game. Quite some bugs though when driving around with the sled, like leaving the sled and being stuck into a wall, or being abe to drive on top of a house. All in all, nice game ! :)

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:48am

Cute art and nice concept. Well done.

dansludumdare says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Game got slower for me as it ran for longer. Maybe as more cops spawned?

I really like you guys who interpreted the theme as "Lotsa crime. Gotta crime some crime."

illugion says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:11pm

The graphics were kinda blurry but the game is really fun

StMatn says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:14am

Nice idea. A second key or even automatic loading of presents to the sled and unloading to the cave would be cool, because it was a bit annoying to be forced to enter and exit the sled with each present. A bit more polish and bug-hunting and the game will be really nice. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]