Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

RobTheBank - dvdking - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is about four villains, who try to robe the bank.

Controls: WASD SPACE
or arrows Z X

View dvdking's journal. | View all entries by dvdking

Ratings

Coolness71%
#12Fun3.94
#43Overall3.75
#46Theme4.00
#65Mood3.53
#101Humor3.41
#169Audio3.00
#263Graphics3.19
#326Innovation2.94

Comments

hints says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:10am

This was.. AMAZING.

The simple graphics were just made epic by the particle effects. I spent the whole game grinning.

I think I woke up my neighbors laughing at the ending sequence. I'm not sure if it was supposed to be funny, but "Will you dinner?" just did me in after such an enjoyable play through.

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12am

A solid entry, nice pixelated graphics, good sound effects, and bank robbery definitely fits the theme. I also liked the variety in it, the driving stage is a nice addition. It felt a bit too easy and short though.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13am

Wow! This is by far the best game I've played yet. The graphics are nothing to get excited about, but that hardly matters given all the other ways this game excels. The high-speed chases and smooth character replacement were extremely cool. I am a huge fan.

ahmedcab says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:37pm

this by far the best game i played.
the art style is good but with the particle effects it became amazing.

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:14pm

Game was very fun but felt too easy and short. Music got annoying after a while.

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

I don't think that the graphics were good but the game was enjoyable

delpes says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Wow nice game :) Sadly to short. The chase was cool. Control & gameplay were very smooth.

fakeshadows says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:44pm

Haha, that was brilliant. Good job :)

Dadeyemi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Nice one!

chocobyte says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:20pm

Fast and fun!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:48pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:11pm

haha!... fast furious and fun! great work!

dom2d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:13pm

Ba ba ba ba ba ba ba BABABA ba ba ba ba

Madball says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:13pm

Simple, but great.
Also, a bug: 3 men were fired, but in the end it said that it's 2.

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:35pm

Madball: let's think that's not a bug... let's say the guy just lied, so his wife wouldn't be so upset

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:39pm

That was Awesome! really fun!
The end was really funny, and the car chase was a nice addition.
There was one annoying bug though, if you jump over the door at the end of the hall, which I did twice :[, after all the swat guy come down from the roof, then you get stuck and can't move

nate427 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:33pm

Wow, really, really, really good in every aspect! Love it!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:36am

"will you diner" HAhAHAHHAHA this game was awesome. Nice feeling of just fucking the robbery up. Kind of wish I could control all 4 guys at once to make it a real mess :D

Stryphe says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:53am

Very Nice!

sparkymc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Wow that was a great game!

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:39pm

I loved it! The graphics glitched out a couple of time but It was pretty hilarious!

KEFIR says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:17am

Very very good!

Encircle says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Great music, awesome art and funny gameplay.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:52pm

That's pretty awesome that you had both a shooting and driving section (even if they weren't that dissimilar :P ). Loved the added touch that you could murder your friends! Shame the game itself was so easy. Literally just hold space and walk left till the driving sequence :P Pretty good!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:57am

That was brilliant. Multiple settings and actions, a story line, a boss enemy with health bar and dinner at the end. What more do you need?

Very good use of lo-tech graphics, sound and mechanics to make a full game in 48h. Excellent.

madpew says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Whoa I didn't expect this. alot of content considering the 48hrs limit. good take on the theme.. with more polish this could make a great game. It's a bit easy though.

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:14pm

HILARIOUS! "1 man was fired" at the end had me laughing hard. Very fun game with a nice sense of progression. Going from area to area not knowing what will come next is a great feeling. You did a good job of making me want to keep going. It was VERY easy, though. That's the only issue. Oh, other than that song. Man, that song. It will haunt me in my dreams. GREAT JOB!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]