Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

BAD MOTHA... Nature! - Freakill - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is about being Mother Nature. But not in a friendly way, no. Humankind has been mean towards earth, now is your time to be the bad ass and kick humans asses! Take the role of the BAD MOTHA Nature!

With your GOD powers destroy ships creating anomalies in the sea or crashing planes by striking them with lightnings! Create chaos in a random Archipelago!

This game has been created using openFrameworks framework for C++ and OpenGL applications. Graphics have been done with Paint .NET, music using SFXR.

Credits also to Zach Lieberman for the Algo 2012 course and Paricio Gonzalez for his ripple algorithms.

View Freakill's journal. | View all entries by Freakill

Ratings

Coolness85%
#122Innovation3.47
#210Fun3.16
#246Overall3.21
#279Theme3.42
#427Humor2.32
#466Mood2.61
#489Audio2.00
#580Graphics2.35

Comments

Datw says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10am

Good game overall, could have been better if the screen was resizable. Because it wasn't, I couldn't see the icons on the bottom.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:13am

The overall idea is really nice I think. It was fun to let airplanes crash into "buildings/cities" :) It would have been nice if the score would have been displayed during gameplay. Also some documentation about combos and what amount of points they are worth would be nice. I was wandering why I couldnt let ships crash into a "building" by a current. Nevertheless, an interesting title!

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:14am

Score 43250! I really dig this game. When I used to play Simcity, my favorite part was using the cheats to cause fires and plane crashes. This game hits the same notes :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:16am

There were some really cool elements, especially the way you could influence the water! Expanding on that idea would be really cool!

jtoper says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:44am

I really like this game.

lucars83 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09am

I enjoyed it. Would have been nice if the game lasted long though. As in the cities didn't blow up.

Markavian says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:23am

That was loads of fun. I thought the powerup mechanics drained a bit quickly, but shunting ships and planes around was neat. I think with a bit of work on the graphics it'd be excellent.

jahlgren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:30am

Good overall. But I got boored because it was so slow

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18am

Really liked this one! Also reminded me of SimCity... :p I think the control mechanism and UI is pretty neat too. The sea current is really original.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:36pm

I liked the way the currents worked. I think it would be awesome if there were even more power ups.

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:50pm

Hehe playing God is allways awesome :D Nice work!

naughtyloose says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:53pm

I really like the concept! But I think the game is bugged somehow because after like 5 minutes almost everything exploded. Also the old school sim city graphics are nice^^ The sound however is a bit too loud and or bad quality.

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Very interesting concept. The special abilities worked really nicely and were fun to use. Good game!

Razion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:15am

Hilarious title! Pretty fun. Interesting explosion chain system.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:32pm

The concept in the game was great though if given several more hours of polish and new graphics the game would be great.

h8urf8 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:28pm

Cool game. Would have liked to play it a bit longer. ;)

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Awesome idea! I like it, very missile command :)

myachin says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:40am

modernovo and innovativno

ceronman says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:42pm

Sorry, I can't rate this game because I don't have Windows.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:18pm

Sorry, can't rate since I don't have windows.

Freakill says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:49pm

First of all thank a lot to al the critics, I'm writing them down as I plan to restart this game from scratch (I liked the idea but not too much the implementation). Gameplay was not enough tested, so I think I wasted too much time on water without paying attentiont to art and play balance :S

For the last comments, I'm no adding Linux and Mac compiled, but without sound. I'm encountering a problem that has already taken too much time for solving with the audio, so I decided to take it out and if I manage to solve, will change links :)

jmaasing says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:50am

It didn't agree with my linux (not your fault, I didn't have the right versions of needed libraries). I'll come back for the OSX-version later and play that :) Thanks for making a linux version.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:11am

Thanks for adding a Linux port. I had to install freeglut and freeimage to play it, but in the end I was able to do it. Very nice game, it's cool to see those hips crashing! also, nice physics!

DTG says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:51am

only just got the icons at the bottom to use the abilities on my laptop, but nice little chaining mechanic.
The tsunamis etc seemed like a really cool idea but I just couldn't use them often. In the end I just waited till they were near docks then just use a current.
A little bit of tweaking could show the good work you've done with some of the functions.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:09pm

As others noted, this is basically the Disasters menu from SimCity 1 rebuilt as the main game. Good idea that matches the theme and well done.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:55pm

The graphics are okay, but the game mechanics are very funny. Good job! My best score was 51250 (with an 8x combo!).

Just add a tutorial or help button instead of forcing the player again and again to wait for the button to skip the instructions.

I hope you keep working on this game and add some further mechanics and content!

Worse says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:07pm

The changing of water currents was great, maybe the game could have utilized that mechanic more.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]