December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Pong Inversion

by ryebread761 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I took one of the most classic games, and changed it around. Hopefully some people will enjoy it. If you are on Windows or Linux, you will need the love app to play this (many of you may already have it :)) https://love2d.org/ -- Sorry about that :/ I am hoping to learn AS3 and FlashPunk/Flixel for the April Dare .

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#608Innovation2.33
#743Fun1.75
#767Overall1.75
#1048Coolness22%

Comments

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:42am

The game is too slow. Otherwise nice idea.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:25pm

I'm sure there is a way to make exe files out of love... unfortunately I'm on a computer which doesn't have love installed at the moment, I'll try to play when I get back to my main.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:34pm

Every time I want to try out a new engine or tool, I start by making a variation of Pong in it. This one looks like one of those games, and I have to say, I haven't come up with it, great idea.

Digiraze says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:50pm

I can leave the ball at the very top and I will get 30 bounces, without really playing it. What's the losing scenario?

Do you lose health each time you hit the bat?

ryebread761 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:35am

@Digiraze There isn't a way to "loose". besides just giving up.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:54pm

Creative use of the theme, but the gameplay needs some more work. It's so slow that it gets boring easily, and the paddles' behaviour is too predictable.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:24am

Playing as the ball I'd like to have more control over my speed and angle and trying to "confuse" the paddles with strange movement. Try changing this around to have more realistic behavior by giving your objects velocity and other attributes. Keep on coding!

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:46pm

A little on the slow side, though I like the concept. Nice try!

leafo says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:09am

Cool idea but the game was too slow! I tried a few of the difficulties and they seemed the same to me.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]