December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Escape

by mokujin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My game is about four villains, who stole 10 000 from bank.
Game full of adventures)
Controlls:
WASD - move;
Mouse left button - shoot (at out of car scenes)
Arrows - controll in menu.
That's all. Enjoy playing!)


PS: My english is worse, and i will be very appreciate, if you will correct mistakes in in-game messages. Thanks!!

UPD: Some common problems is crashing when OpenAL is not installed, or OpenGL driver is old. Please update videocard driver or install OpenAL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#174Fun3.25
#194Audio2.94
#204Humor3.00
#313Theme3.31
#328Overall3.05
#339Innovation2.92
#350Mood2.79
#446Graphics2.75

Comments

jmk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52am

Hi there, your download links for Win/Mac/Linux are the same ... looks like the Windows version. Or are there other instructions for launching the game?

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53am

Not sure how to run this on my Mac. I tried "mono Escape.exe" from the terminal, but just gut a bunch of errors :(

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:38am

Unfortunately this is not running on my OSX installation. I had to install mono myself and the manually run it from the command line. Here's the output: http://pastebin.com/TjryS3bM

Will try on linux later, though, and rate then.

mokujin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:54am

For launch my game on mac and linux you must try mono: http://www.mono-project.com/Main_Page

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:55am

Haha, very nice! It gets a bit repetitive and the cops are definitely zombies in uniform. But apart from that, interesting idea.

Only two things I noticed: Police cars don't collide with each other? Unfair! And it seems like the exhaust from other cars is going into the wrong direction and/or straight up. But apart from that, very entertaining.

De10ter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:55am

Hmm, kinda mixed feelings about this one.
I liked the car chase concept but was disappointed that the cop cars didn't collide with each other, would have really added some depth/tactics.
Defending the car was unexpected in a good way, but the blood splats being drawn on top of everything was a bit offputting (think it should really have been on the road/under the characters)
But like I say, I liked the concept :)

mokujin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:56am

DavidErosa: looks like problems with audio.. are you sure that you have OpenAl?

karsyf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:56am

Couldn't get this working Windows either.

BiceMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:59am

Fun little game with good basic gameplay. A little bit hard sometimes. Nice story and nice noise sound effects and music fitting the game well. The graphics doesn't really feel polished.

J says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:00pm

Yeah, Mono is looking for 'openal32.dll', which I assume is some C# binding to OpenAL, but I can't seem to find a package containing it.

mokujin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:22pm

J: Maybe it needs opentk.dll compiled special for mac or linux..
If you can, try comple sources under your system

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:04pm

Tried to run the windows version. After installing .net 4.5 I tried to run it and it crashed with this error:

TypeInitialisationError for OpenTK.Audio.AudioContent

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:52pm

Nice game, liked the controls of the car. The bad english makes the game even more fun :D

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:53pm

Overall, I enjoyed this one. Got to the part with the spikes and ended up dead. A bit more polish would've made the game significantly better, but during a 48h game jam polish is not always possible. It fits the theme and is fun to play.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:39pm

Crashed on startup for me, no error message.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47pm

Couldn't run the game

Atomic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:38pm

I really like this one! Fun to play, good variety of stuff. Nice graphics, funny animations. Good music. IMHO all negative aspects are related to text: the dialog shouldn't stop the game, there are lots of mistakes (that's of course forgivable) and some guys show up with girl's names (random generator?).

mokujin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Atomic: Yea, kinda random.. that's bug, but i had lack of time to fix it, now it is a super feature)) I happy that you enjoyed it))

Danvil says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38pm

Can not play because System.DllNotFoundException: "The DLL openal32.dll"

Freakill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:29am

Made me get nervous! I've been most of the time with the car nearly at 0% hahah. Like the idea, it is cool! :D It would had been amazing that the car changed a litlle bit while it was breaking down :P But I enjoyed a lot the game :D Well plotted to ;)

100GPing100 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:36am

I was able to play the game after downloading the source code and fixing an error.

The reference to the OpenTK library in the Escape project was faulty. Go into the source and re-add this library as a reference by choosing the file that is in the BlueberryEngine.

Claite says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:13am

I liked the changing chat dialogs. Fun game! I also liked the different scenarios that happen based on how well you do at each stage.
Great work!

TylerJones says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:37pm

This game is fun, difficult and a heck of a 48-hour production! The cops & robbers theme doesn't break any new ground and the English is rough, but it's surprisingly engaging. Excellent entry overall.

csanyk says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:33am

I gave it a try, but I couldn't outrun the cops. Seems like I'm missing some vital technique.

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:32am

I guess this is a "super wagon adventure like" game. Didnt expect to see this, that was fun :)
Cool tunes and nice variety of action. I enjoyed that characters are random and can say different stuff when you play again.
Arrow keys to play would have been nice, WASD keys are tough on AZERTY keyboards.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:48pm

I can't play it using mono on Ubuntu 12.10: System.DllNotFoundException: openal32.dll

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:32pm

Couldn't run it :/ sorry.

Norgg says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:09pm

I quite liked the start of this with the cop cars, but then some of the later modes like spikes and pileup weren't as interesting to me.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:49pm

A funny little game here. Nice how you made the little minigames in context of the plot. Graphics are okay, too.

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Very fun and hilarious game! I was expecting it to stay the same but it changed up and I was pleasantly surprised. Good work for 48 hours!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]