December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Heroes' Menace

by Danilo Bezerra - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello guys, I am in my 2nd LD#48 participation, and this the 2nd game I ever made. I used LibGDX to make this, and I'm a total noob on this API but I'm happy with the result. Soon I will try to provide a html5 version.

The Heroes' Menace:

You are a terrible villain who kidnapped a princess, and you have to defeat the heroes who came to rescue her... But you are injuried and can only shoot one fireball per time, don't let them enter in the princess radius and don't confront them on close-quarters.

"It sucks to be the villain, because he never wins... but nothing prevents you from taking a few heroes together!"

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#271Theme3.43
#309Graphics3.07
#453Overall2.82
#467Fun2.63
#473Audio2.07
#534Mood2.46
#561Innovation2.44
#948Coolness32%

Comments

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:50am

One fireball at a time really makes this a hard game! Seems like it would be easier to play with a gamepad versus a keyboard, though.

Prelucid says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:13pm

Couldn't run the java in windows or mac.

AumaanSnake says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:17pm

What is the version of Windows and Mac you're using?
I tested it only on Windows XP and OSX Snow Leopard.

Joncom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:00am

Very cool idea. Nice work!

Prelucid says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:08pm

OSX Lion and Windows 7 64.

JFlegle says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Nice game, I like your art.

ceronman says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:20pm

Nice idea. Fits well the theme and it's fun. Shots could have been improved though.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Runs fine on mac for me (Snow Leopard)

Really cute style -- I wish it was mouse controlled instead of WASD, though. I had a really hard time getting the diagonal guys.

PaulSB says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Very difficult to progress with only one fireball possible at a time, it soon becomes too much. But I liked it up to then, the sprites are nice.

zairon says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:05pm

I like the game a lot, but why not allow diagonals with a single key, like with the num pad? Or am I doing something wrong?

OU GDA says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:53am

Really hard game with only the single fireball, but a fun game. It would have been good to say what the controls are, but they were simple enough so not hard to learn. Also, it might have been my keyboard, but I couldn't hold the up/left arrows and shoot at the same time (The other directions were fine) making that direction kill me every time since trying to release both directions would make me jump to the top or left (Mouse controls would have been good).

fishbrain says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Nice game, and nice concept. Bullet reload/regeneration was a little slow and made it difficult. Nice pics too.

juaxix says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Good idea, need more development, continue ;)

Maple says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:48am

Pretty good, but when I got the hang of it I just couldn't die, lol. My wrists were starting to get sore around the 250 kill mark, so I stopped. The next step would be to make the game get progressively harder.

Also, something I like to do with point-driven games like this, is to multiply the score by itself, or something, so that you feel really boss when you get a big score, but it's only a little bit harder than getting something half the score.

Nice game.

Per says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:15pm

Simple but fun :)
Add a few more possible fire buttons. My keyboard doesn't seem to handle space + right + down :)

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:53pm

I like the aesthetic, though the difficulty escalates quickly. More variety in attacks and enemies would really benefit the game. Nice job!

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:45am

First I thought 'nice gfx, this will be a good game' but then why should I hold down 2 keys to shoot diagonally when horizontally and vertically the goat stays there without holding any keys. Also the sounds are getting on my nervs.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]