December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Smite the King!

by MortalWombat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(July 2013) Little update for people who might get lost and stumble upon this game:

In retrospect calling a game that doesn't even bring up the topic of rape "Rape the King" was neither clever nor tasteful but pretty silly and a little insulting.

So I changed it. A good day to you, lonely wanderer!
_____________________________

Smite the King!

You're a demon, surrounded by filthy, hostile humans!
Can you get us their kings head?
_____________________________

A zeldaesque action rpg/rogue-like(-like) in a randomly generated world!
The learning curve is part of the fun!
_____________________________

Note:

Got around to do some testing on Linux.
To start the game on linux, mark the Jar as executable or start from the command line:
'cd path/to/game/directory' (eg. 'cd ~/Downloads/RapeTheKing/')
'java -jar RapeTheKing.jar'

Please leave me a comment if you encounter problems on OSX.
_____________________________

** Controls **

Gamepads supported!

Keyboard:

WALK
- WASD or the arrow keys

STRIKE SWORD
- J or NUM4

SHOOT ARROW
- K or NUM5

SHOOT MAGIC
- L or NUM6

MAP/CONFIRM
- I or NUM8


The * gamepad controls * can be configured in the controls.cfg file if the default values don't work for you.

By changing the scale value in render.cfg you can effectively change the resolution.

Feel free to play with the configuration files if you'd like to mess things up. ;)
_____________________________

Have fun!

@mathk_

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#286Humor2.75
#315Mood2.88
#338Audio2.50
#381Overall2.95
#429Fun2.72
#476Theme2.94
#566Graphics2.39
#591Innovation2.39
#884Coolness37%

Comments

soupy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44pm

I really like the scope of the project, but the lack of any kind of obvious way to save or restarting me with my experience earned was a pretty strong disincentive to play more than once or twice. The gameplay was pretty fun, but it's frustrating to get so set back when it seems easy to wander into an area where the enemies are too strong for you.

MortalWombat says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:15pm

Hey, thanks a lot for playing!
Yeah, there's no saving or loading as I intended it to play a little 'rogue-likey'. But there is a way to roughly tell the strength of an enemy without fighting her/him. Also, the outer regions are generally more high-level than the inner ones.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:53am

There's a lot of complexity here, like the feelings I have for the game's title.

Mago says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Really hardcore game, I played it dozen times and they allways kills me before I even find the castle. I don't say its bad because of that, just that I suck at it. Every thing else is very good.

MortalWombat says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:53pm

@Mago: The trick is to carefully level up before going into the outer areas. Also exploiting bad pathfinding and sticking to a certain type of attack :)

(I'm giving away too mich here)

I've made it through a couple of times (with sweaty palms, though)! :)

ilo says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:29pm

The furthest I managed to get was around level twelve. It's fun and didn't feel unfair despite being tough.

The biggest frustration I had was not being able to strafe in any way, given the nature of the dodging/shooting gameplay.

Jan 4, 2013 @ 9:39pm

This is a horrible name for a game.

Msquirrel says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:39am

Good enough game, despite the name... which I don't really like if I'm honest.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:28am

Yeah, bad name. Weird when your last LD game was so good.

Aslai says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:44am

The game was all around fantastic, but the raw mechanism behind it was way too brutal for me to finish :(

SuperDisk says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:06am

The controls were fluid enough but it's ridiculously hard. You walk out of that dungeon and immediately get slaughtered by blueball throwing guys.

ddionisio says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:30am

In this game, king's men raped me. I like the controls, would have been nice to have the character face where it is heading. I sometimes misfire not knowing where I am pointing at. Really cool game though, just really hard at start.

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Very tough game but I really appreciate gamepad support! Enemies that hang out around the edge of the screen transition areas are tough to battle because you end up going to the other areas. Those knights are in my nightmares forever!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]