Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Royal Reptile Rampage - dalbinblue - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a dragon, as a a dragon is wont to do, you feel the need to secure yourself a princess (perhaps for a midnight snack); however, the kingdom would rather you not. That's not a problem though, since the only thing you like better princesses, is trashing their kingdom. Stomp, smash, and burn your way through the kingdom to find the castle and steal the princess.

Some notes after watching a few people play:
Flight is started by pressing jump while airborne, you don't need to keep tapping it for lift. It works like Gargoyles Quest if you've ever played it.

If you duck, you are invulnerable to arrows.

Controls (Keyboard):
--------------------------
Pause - Enter
Movement - Arrow Keys
Jump/Fly - F
Run - D
Breath Fire - S
Grab - A

Controls (Gamepad):
--------------------------
Pause - Start
Movement - Digital pad
Jump/Fly -A
Run - X
Breath Fire - Y
Grab - B




Written in C# using XNA 4.0. If you haven't run an XNA application before, you will need to install the XNA redistributable, available from Microsoft at http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914. Note that you will not need to install the game itself on your machine, just unzip the archive and run the game executable.

View dalbinblue's journal. | View all entries by dalbinblue

Ratings

Coolness100%
#103Theme3.80
#123Mood3.29
#134Audio3.15
#178Overall3.34
#180Graphics3.46
#202Humor3.02
#232Fun3.12
#265Innovation3.08

Comments

Yngar says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:54am

I liked the idea and the art a lot. It was pretty difficult to dodge those arrows though.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:55am

This was pretty nice overall. It was fun to play and didn't get repetitive until close to the end. I think maybe you should add more to this game and try to keep too many archers from ganging up on you, it gets annoying sometimes. Also, the controls are a bit awkward, but that's probably just me. I really like the cartoony look of the graphics, it reminds me of Yoshi's Island for some reason. I hope you continue this, as it has some potential to be a nice game, just add some more rampaging and make it easier to do so...

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:16am

I do need to fix the controls. I didn't actually try the game on a Game until after submission and found it awkward. I should also probably swap flames and running on the keyboard.

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:22am

Yep, dodging was very difficult for me too - as were the controls overall, I kept mixing up keys and totally forgot what the jump button was. Maybe "up" would've been easier?

I like the looks of the dragon - the art style is quite loveable in general.

It was fun to play, but the fact that every little arrow pushed me back made me feel a bit less than a mighty evil dragon.

The level seems incredibly big! I was quite surprised when I fell down and it didn't result in my death (or in a very small hole), but in an entirely different area - and then I jumped down *again* just for kicks, and there was more to see! I'm impressed!

Overall, a pretty cool game. Thanks!

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:31am

Looked great, had good potential, too difficult to dodge arrows and rocks

Dohan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:56am

I really enjoyed this game and its art, but those tiny arrows hit really hard!

Also, is the towers and castle throwing cows a Monty Python reference?

surpy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:06am

I thought it was pretty fun, but it is a bit hard to dodge those arrows and rocks. It seems pretty big, is it randomly generated for the map or did you do all of it?

Spelchan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:29am

Great game. While the game was more difficult than I like, there were very frequent checkpoints so when I died I didn't have to replay too much of it. For keyboard users the controls did kind of suck.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:44am

@surpy - The level was hand designed, though a bit frantically; I only played through once from start to end before submission.

@everyone else - I REALLY need to fix the controls, to those that play, what keyboard buttons would be most common to control? I'm left-handed and may have everything reverse what the other 90% of the population finds normal.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:01am

Ack I can't play windows games :-(

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:09am

A good game lies here underneath some confusing controls.

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:01am

controls were a little unresponsive at times but overall I really liked setting fire to the landscapes...

blob says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:39am

Well ! THAT was very satisfying. Jumping on cows is my new favorite thing.
Very fun game, with a large amount of moves. There's some ideas with all those moves that could make for a pretty strategic platformer.
Very nice animations of the main character, and +1 for mentionning Gargoyle's Quest :D
( and on a completely separate note, go find "demon's crest", its SNES sequel, if you havent played it yet. Its a hidden gem. )

awppy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:57am

Regarding controls: from my emulator days I used to map WASD to face buttons on a PSX/SNES controller (or ESDF if you prefer), keeping jump in the middle and run on the left. Using a WASD setup, that'd be A to run, S to jump, and either W for fire D to eat, or D to fire W to eat.

Eating things needs to be more usable. It's pretty much impossible to eat villagers without backing them into corners, so being able to move with a claw outstretched, scooping them up, would work better. There's still a delay while eating, so it wouldn't overpower an armed crowd.

the fire also felt a bit underpowered. It was much easier to trample everything, and the best designs give every ability its place.

On the other hand, this has been one of the most impressive 48-hour games I've seen so far. Good work!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:58am

@blob, oh I have both Demon's Crest and Gargoyles Quest 2 as well, though i will admit that I have only finished the original. My game collection is actually quite extensive and at the same time pretty sad: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/87314864/TheCollection.jpg. (Note I am definitely a retro gamer).

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:05am

I liked the level design. The arrow knockback seemed a bit drastic, though, and sometimes the controls seemed a little clunky. Was there an incentive to crushing buildings? Other than being the villain, of course :P

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:21am

That was rather fun to play, nice job

impulse9 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Absolutely hilarious. Lovely game.

radmars says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:42pm

awesome visuals / style! I feel like the controls are a bit sluggish, a lot of fun. (also your postmortem was incredible!)

zompi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Yay dragon! And in addition a cute one! I really like the art style, there is nothing better than a dragon happily devastating all world :D

blob says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Oh boy, that's awesome. You actually own those guys on cartridges... Beautiful collection !

nathanj439 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:06am

Excellent art and animations. Really appreciated the generous checkpoints as I died alot.

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Your idea and graphics are good, but I found it annoying that everything uses energy, and I have to wait for it to replenish just to be able to jump.

TheMelon says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:17am

Love the style and who doesn't like a game where you eat pesky villagers(Trogdor inspired?). Movement feels a little rough, but overall a nice experience.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:41pm

Looks good a cute dragon, but controls and the jump back reaction to every tiny little arrow makes it very hard to play. I'm a dragon! Some different damage system is needed. Then I got stuck in a tower and got pelted with little rocks and arrows by people who could run 100m/s judging by the scale. I felt very tiny..

fishbrain says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:07am

Cool!... I liked being a dragon, once I got used to the controls... fun!

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:33pm

The controls are not smooth, but it's okay. Somehow frustrating to run into your food accidentally ^^

The art is really charming.

HeyChinaski says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Loved it, very, very nice artwork and plenty of variety in the controls/attacks. Sound is good too. Perhaps the controls/gameplay could do with a bit of tuning. The power meter is a challenging mechanic but ducking and waiting for it to refill (as there's rarely anything left alive to eat) is a frustrating experience. Overall really solid entry though. The dragon animation is particularly strong.

Norgg says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Okay, I actually really like this and think you packed a lot into this in the 48 hours.

The controls did feel quite clunky, and being held in place to perform one action at a time breaks the flow of what could otherwise have been really interesting combat. Things like being able to breath fire while flying or taking a running jump into flight would have been great. I agree with awppy's suggestion of running along with a claw outstretched to grab people to eat too.

I didn't quite understand what ducking did. The ingame text said it "reflected arrows", but I never saw them bounce back, and boulders still hit me.

The hitpoint system combined with just instantly respawning nearby when you died made death seem pretty meaningless here, just a very minor setback.

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Very nice! The controles are not very responsive for some reason but other than that this is a great game. Tank you!

nkling says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Hey great work this was really enjoyable to play! The controls are pretty confusing. Animation was excellent! I'd love to see this game continued!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]