December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A trip along the railroad tracks

by Catmoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I figured for this LD I'd try and make something a little simpler so here you have A trip along the railroad tracks a game trying to re-create the memories an LCD game like we all grew up with.

You play a dastardly fiend that wants to have his vengeance on the world...or just on passers by. I hope you enjoy!

I hope to also be releasing a version for Windows 8 and Windows Phone 8 in the close future after making sure to iron out any bugs that exist.

You can play with a variety of controls as the instructions state although I recommend using the mouse as then the avatar changes between his subimages which didn't manage to get completed on arrow/WASD.

Also sorry that there is no highscore table as well, I couldn't get it to work and it was causing other script to not work. But let me know your scores as it does get frantic and probably a bit too hard the further you get, I really want to go over it again to balance the timings.

Also my apologises that the .exe actually has to be installed now, I didn't realise Game Maker had changed its ways.

Created in Game Maker studio and tested mainly on Windows and a little testing in Internet Explorer 9. As usual if you find any bugs please let me know so I can try and fix them! :) Also for those with small screens my apologies for making it at such a large resolution, I did this because of my plans to port it over to other devices.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Theme3.88
#148Mood3.22
#149Humor3.18
#212Overall3.28
#240Fun3.09
#279Innovation3.06
#288Graphics3.13
#403Audio2.30
#948Coolness32%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:19am

This is great! Love the idea, and it feels positively like those old-timey lcd-games that sell tehmselves on being like game-boys :)

Nice work!

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24pm

Not bad at all, it could have been a bit more challenging to begin with - perhaps by making the trains something that you also had to avoid :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:03pm

This game brings back some nostalgia from those oldschool gamesystems that looked like gameboys, but could only play very simple games with simple graphics.
Definitely liking aesthetic execution with the graphics style and resolute audio!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:12pm

Would be great to have to avoid trains too...

sharbelfs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:17pm

good idea, very original. :)

Biped says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:17pm

I used to love game & watch when I was young - you've definitely captured that vibe. Well done.

saampahlavan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:37am

great game and watch feel!

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:20pm

You really nailed the game&watch look and sound. Fantastic job :)

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:28am

Game&Watch seems to be the trend for this LD: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=4681

I think your game also misses a loosing condition. Like RexPeppers suggests, having to avoid trains could enhance the gameplay.

Husky says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:41pm

Fun game & watch style

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:15pm

97 points on the first try (using the mouse). This is really fun and addictive! I think the balancing is quite good, and I particularly like how there seem to be "waves" so you get a bit of a breather in between, because it does get quite hectic. It looks cute too!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:04pm

HA! I love it. I agree that you might want to make avoiding the trains part of it, but even as is it's more fun that it should be. Gleefully evil! Great job.

hypp says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:09pm

Nice, but gets a bit boring.

Cabral says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:42pm

It's really nice, good graphics, good sounds and it's very solid.

The gameplay is kind of repetitive, I wish there was more to it, as there's too much waiting time and what you do move ends up being really automated. But good job, over all!

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:56pm

Yeah, liked the game & watch style. Could have been a little more in this direction graphical wise.
Nice little game.

fishbrain says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:14am

Nice retro LCD action.

laaph says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Very cute, love the game and watch style.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]