December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Klause Pringle: Eco Terrorist

by TehSkull - Jam Entry

Let me start by saying this is the greatest thing I've ever been involved with. In this game, you are the villain who will stop at nothing to be as un-green as possible. Use your limited time to show Mother Nature and those goofy Green Movement people who's boss.

Controls are explained in-game; I'll type them up tomorrow. Shoot me a comment if you have any questions, comments, problems, bugs.

The game looks prettiest in Chrome, but works in all browsers with HTML5 support.

Team:
Dae in Cho (@haloflooder) - Programming, art, design
Mitchell Orcino (@mitch_orcino) - Art, design
Kyle Bradshaw (@TehSkull) - Design, art, sound
Seth White (@HerbivoreZombie) - Music

Keep your eye out for the goat. It's there. Finding it will give you a sneak preview at what little work we did on Level 2.
Edit: I feel like I should let you all know that the goat easter egg CAN be found after time runs out. Keep looking.

Edit 2: Merry Christmas to all. As our gift to you, we have a hint for the Goat easter egg, as no one seems to have found it. It's located in the bathroom.

Good luck.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#63Humor(Jam)3.23
#150Theme(Jam)3.36
#165Innovation(Jam)2.85
#171Fun(Jam)2.77
#172Audio(Jam)2.73
#175Overall(Jam)2.98
#218Graphics(Jam)2.87
#240Mood(Jam)2.51

Comments

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53am

The awesomeness of the explosion killed my framerate. Nice job overall.

haloflooder says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:07am

@Xeke_Death: Yeah, we'll get around to that after the deadline (polishing)

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:12am

I couldn't find the goat, but I got everything else, including the stuff in the hard-to-reach area.

This was fantastic. The text size would fluctuate between large and small, and there was no text box, but other than that there weren't any problems. I would love to see more of this character. Whoever did the face graphic absolutely nailed it.

haloflooder says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:38am

@hissssssssss: What about the text box? On which screen? What Device, OS, and browser did you use? And thanks C:

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:14pm

I'm running a Windows 7 PC, Firefox 9.something.
The text size was erratic throughout the entire game for me, and I never saw a white text box to go with the text. With an older version of Firefox it's not unexpected to have wackiness. An out of date browser is my fault, of course, but it's good to know about these things, right?
If you need screens I can upload some somewhere for you.

haloflooder says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Yeah, it's MOST LIKELY because of your VERY outdated version of Firefox (I tested it on v17.0.1). I won't be able to support older browsers since they lack most of the new features in HTML5 technology to date. Thanks for telling us your problem btw!

We'll be releasing an executable version after the polish!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:09am

Solid idea with some funny monologues, would welcome more content.

sparkymc says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:12am

Very good game. If you press d on the intro screen a dialog box pops up.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:46am

This was cool :3

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:47am

Couldn't find the last three things. Nice concept.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:10am

Nice effort. Pressing the action keys during the intro produces a debug window & I couldn't hear any music.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:50am

He must be angry about having to jump to reach the light switches..
Interesting game, if a bit short

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:23pm

@Dark Acre Jack: the music is activated by one of the objects in-game.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:41am

Great concept with hilarious dialogue and an artstyle that isn't too shabby either. Great job.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:58am

Can't find the hidden level or the easter egg. but I got all 19 points! Love point and click things and this one didn't disappoint. Also, is that a drawing of Gaston with a beard? :D

fishbrain says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:30am

Nice. Good graphic-style. Yeah, just need some more content.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:56am

Ah ah funny!
So hard to find the last actions!

goerp says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:19pm

haha, man your controls were almost as hard as mine. It took me a while to get comfortable with them.

You created a funny character. It was fun to be an anti-eco-warrior. Finding ways to be an ass, sweet. Will we see more of Klause?
Alas, I didn't find the goat.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:50pm

@goerp We have plans to continue this game, but first we have to finish our project for Six Pack Game Jam. http://sixpackgamejam.herokuapp.com/Rules

TehSkull says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Added a hint for the Goat's location into the description. I hope someone finds it. :)

Jiddo says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Haha, really cool idea. I loved the art style and the comments for each action.

The second level was a bit unintuitive tho. I couldn't really figure out how to deal with all the different items just by the beginning. Once I picked one I couldn't get rid of it, even after using it. Maybe I just missed something tho. :(

Oh, and I found the goat! (Without having read the hint!)

Great work!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:32am

Good! It was fun to find the extra hidden stuff, though I couldn't find the goat. Hints??

TehSkull says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:36am

@Jiddo: Second level is, as noted, a work in progress. Please don't judge our game based on it. We only made it available as an easter egg to ensure we wouldn't be judged on it.

@Tom 7: There are 2 hints in the description. The most important one is that you CAN find the goat before OR AFTER time runs out.

davidwparker says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Interesting. Took me a second to realize to use both keyboard and mouse (I'm on a trackpad on a laptop). Other than that, it worked well.

Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Awesome puzzlegame! Before I found the 'hidden room' it seemed a bit boring, but the hidden things make it really worthwile :-) In the 2nd level I couldn't do anything, but I guess that's due to the in-progressness.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]