December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Pinball Bounder!

by garygreen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help the evil bounder scare babies and torment old people, whilst avoiding the angry mob. Press space to start the game. To move, position your mouse on the screen and click and he'll move towards the mouse (and bounce off the walls).

Made with Scratch (programming); Texture Processor & Tile Studio (graphics); Caustic (audio) - I only ended up spending 8 hours on it & once again I would have liked to make it more polished, including making the graphics more interesting & create a few changing maps.

I realised there are a couple of bugs :-( , but it's still playable. Bugs include: (1) Collision detection isn't 100% accurate (2) Sometimes you can get trapped in an endless loop if you're caught by the angry mob and the game never ends.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#400Audio2.31
#446Humor2.27
#460Innovation2.65
#510Theme2.89
#661Graphics2.11
#681Mood2.06
#729Fun1.83
#734Overall2.11

Comments

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12pm

I have no idea what just happened, but I think I liked it!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:06pm

I don't really get, what i have todo. But a game made with scratch is new to me :).

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:08pm

Getting trapped by the angry mob was a nasty bug. Other than this, the game shows some promise but needed some more time, I think. Some aspects of the game are similar to my entry, so I found it interesting.

Hazel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:14pm

Simple, but I like the writing :)

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:00pm

Sometimes the villain started moving without me clicking anywhere. It was a bit buggy but I did get the idea of the game. Good job fo 8 hours!

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:14am

Bouncing off the walls doesn't make a whole lot of sense but it could work as a puzzle game.

bugninja says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:20am

I'm not exactly sure what to do. Liked to see someone make a game in Scratch tho, that's pretty fun.

tomc says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:27pm

I have no idea what's going on, but it's humorous at least!

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:30pm

Hm... personally I didn't have all that much fun here, as the controls were very slippery and it felt odd overall. The color scheme is kind of hurting my eyes. Also, I got caught respawning in the center over and over again when the mob was there, therefore getting caught over and over again, until the game froze. That being said, this isn't as bad as it could have been, and this is a learning experience for all of us. A game being programmed in Scratch is new to me as well.

someone says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:44pm

Interesting idea.
At first I thought the guy was moving without me clicking. I eventually realised it was continuing the movement from before an encounter which seems inconsistant with the movement style. Either have continuous slideyness without stopping, or click again to move after you stop for something.
Also respawning doesn't kill your velocity which also creates the odd move without clicking behaviour. Respawning on top of the angry mob didn't help either.
Its a good start though and could be a nice game with a bit more work.

nilstastic says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:51am

Good: Interesting idea and i likes the control scheme (even though it was somewhat buggy)
Improve: The endless loop =)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:02am

Nice idea!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:06am

It seems that when you loose, the game freeze !? A little menu would be nice ;)

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:52pm

It's broken. It plays, but the bugs have made me quit. (my game has similar bugs, and it was made from scratch only with standard HTML5).

Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Good concept, but the movement speed seemed a bit extreme to me :) With a bit more polish, it could become quite enjoyable. Congrats.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:51pm

Nice to see scratch being used :)

Had fun playing your game however I think sometime the collision is not working properly (i.e. don't catch baby)

madpew says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Some kind of (ingame) instructions would have helped. Liked the graphics. Looking like SkiFree.

KunoNoOni says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:31pm

What a wild and trippy game! Sadly I got caught in the endless loop ever game I played :(

burtlo says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:07am

When I press the green button the characters jump around. Other than that no input seems to work for me at all.

burtlo says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:12am

Magically the game seemed to start after I hit every key. Then realized that you have to press the space bar to start. After that the bowling aspect was a little frentic. The conversation bubbles do a great job helping the story.

SonnyBone says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I had no idea how to start it at first and the green flag on the page really confused me because it seems to change the layout and i thought that was part of the game like an idiot. Kept getting caught in loops where my death repeated and word bubbles covered up the entire screen. Very odd little game but somehow very intriguing.

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:35pm

I don't think you were sober at all while making this. SPACE to start, click to launch the 'what's her face' and then what? Those green things going straight into the middle where I respawn and eventually get me for sure. There isn't really a way to launch myself and don't get caught on those spikes or what are they.

garygreen says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Thanks for all the feedback. I plan to update this into a finished game following on from your comments. I suppose in the end I got the basic ideas in there but it needs tidying up and tweaking a lot. I know what I was aiming for, but I didn't give myself much time with 8 hours. Unfortunately I was sober - you should see the stuff I come up with when I'm not. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]