December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Deenergize

by nka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an evil hacker trying to power down the City through the XONIX game.

Controls: Arrows / WASD, M for mute

--
Powered by HaxePunk.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#142Graphics3.59
#152Audio3.06
#218Mood3.07
#247Innovation3.12
#259Overall3.18
#412Fun2.76
#693Theme2.19
#1123Coolness14%

Comments

BNeutral says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:19pm

Lovely visuals. It could have used at least a paragraph of instructions though.

Xavier says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Pretty nice graphics and audio though is hard to understand the gameplay.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:28pm

It's a shame that the whole game was played out on that tiny minimap really, as I thought the car lights moving round the city blocks were cool, but I didn't spend any time looking at them. Still enjoyed playing it for a while

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:36am

awesome, love it. please build this into a full indie game!

pbdiode says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:12am

Little confused about exactly what conditions caused a reset at first, I and I might still be, but it was a fun game, one of the best I've seen thus far, good job!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Love the low-fi-visuals. reminds me of ShamusYoung's Procedural City. Music is oddly fitting.

Gameplay is a bit confusing though. What is happening? What do I do? Am I making progeress? What's with the mini-map-thing? And why am I moving automatically? Is that a bug?

Nolan C says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:50pm

Great art, music, and overall mood. Kinda wish it had a full-screen mode.

Only complaint is dying was very abrupt.

Matt Tuttle says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:52am

The traffic lights were mesmerizing. In fact I didn't even notice the minimap at first so it was a bit disorienting. However, I enjoyed the game once I figured that out. :)

I agree with the other comments that when you lose it should let you know why. Maybe blink the dot on the minimap?

jfroco says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:20am

Nice graphics... but gameplay is a little confusing. Kudos for using Haxe. Congrats

Cyboot says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:09pm

I really loved the Graphics. And the Gameplay is nice too, fun to play.

It took a while for me to combine what the Graphics had to do with the little map I was playing on.
But thats only a small minuspoint, very nice game nevertheless.

Great Job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]