December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Dudes Need Evil Towers

by jujule - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game takes place in the past.

You want to be evil and the Evil Master of the Evil Clan
looks at you but at the same time he looks at the beautiful
waves behind you and deeply smells the salty scent of
the infinite sea. After a long pause he says :

"Dude, TRULY EVIL PEOPLE need a tall EVIL TOWER."

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#109Innovation3.53
#419Humor2.35
#443Fun2.68
#489Audio2.00
#511Overall2.73
#516Mood2.51
#525Graphics2.53
#662Theme2.35

Comments

eShredder says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Feels like a nice mix between Tetris and a bullet hell. Pretty hard though. I kept getting trapped and killed against the screen walls.

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15pm

A bit to hard for me but like it well. Nice game ;)

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:57pm

WOW. I never thought I'd see Tetris mixed with a bullet hell shmup before. It needs some fine-tuning to make it really fun, but the potential is there for something really great. I really appreciate the attention to innovation, here. Good job!

Yogr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:58pm

Cool game. I like the idea. VERY hard though, but it made me only want to beat it more!

Worse says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:10pm

Innovative combination of tetris and bullet hell shmup!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:58pm

An interesting concept well-executed, but I found it really hard, I think with a more gentle learning curve it would have been more fun, but I liked the presentation a lot, nice one! -J

Tyranus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:19pm

I like it! :)
But its pretty hard, more than is needed. The bullet hell, I think, it's not important for the main mechanic of construction.

jujule says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:45pm

Hey, everybody !

Thanks for the kind words ! That really feels good after this tough weekend !

Yes, I know : the game is hard but that's a manic shooter genre prerequisite, isn't it :)
I reckon the game elements are rather small and make reading the screen somewhat difficult but here are a few tips that might help :
- keep your eyes firmly on the little demon at all times
- play with static / movement to lure the bullets where you want
- don't be greedy, wait for the right moment, especially pattern changes.
- you have to pack the blocks, of course, but not too much either.

In all honesty, I didn't beat the game myself. I was too exhausted. But I managed to get to 71 % completion. I guess with a little bit more training and pattern learning, it is doable.

Anyways, thanks again for giving it a try !

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:38am

This was a really interesting idea!

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:42am

A really nice concept but a bit too difficult for me unfortunately.

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:16pm

Nice concept, interesting graphics, but I could not finish it :/

Jiddo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:40am

Fun little game that I could see myself returning to if the screen was a bit larger. It's very hard to see what's going on at times, and it's a bit unclear where the green monster hitbox thingy is. I really had fun with this though, nice concept!

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:42am

Cool concept and well executed. It should start out a bit easier though and ramp up from there.

Well done.

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:20am

Funny game mix ! Got 50% max and it seems hard to get blocks in between areas where you ve built in a messy way. Its a cool idea and i d love to see more though.

illugion says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:47pm

Nice mix, i liked that thing but i really suck at bullet hell games LOL nicely done!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:18am

Pretty great mix of a bullet game and tetris! I kind of disliked how difficult it started off. I felt like having it ease into the difficulty would really help develop a learning curve to how the game worked. Great job!

goerp says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:39pm

I like the idea, but I didn't see what kind of things killed me and what didn't. It seemed kind of random.
Funny texts, though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]