December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

For Greater Good

by Deykoweec - Jam Entry

Simple and funny shoot'em all!

World would be great for everyone if everybody obeyed you. Unfortunately, the reality is different, therefore you fire up your space vehicle and start conquering the solar system! Democratic ships are not making it easy for you...

Credits:
Deykoweec - Main coder (Main game engine, Microengine, 3D models (ships, shots))
Kuci - Secondary coder (Menus, utilities, settings...)
Drahosh - Maestro (Music, SFX, Level design)
aptNutella - Level backgrounds, graphics

If you notice any issues, please post them on our issue tracker: www.frozendevs.com/ticket.php

To play you need Java 7. Errors like: "UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/frozendevs/ludumdare25/Dare25 : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0" means you don't have it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#189Audio(Jam)2.61
#224Graphics(Jam)2.80
#225Overall(Jam)2.77
#234Fun(Jam)2.49
#264Mood(Jam)2.36
#270Humor(Jam)1.86
#282Theme(Jam)2.45
#290Innovation(Jam)2.12

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:08pm

Cool man. Didn't see picking up money having any effect. Other than that, was pretty fun. Should make a hyper fast mode.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Didn't work for me. windows XP

Deykoweec says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:13pm

Prelucid: I believe it has, but when a ship escapes your screen you lose $200 so maybe you picked up the money at the same time. Hyper-fast mode will be in the post-compo, but I believe levels are complicated enough as they are once you get to the last Earth level.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Very nice 3D graphics!

Beerman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Wouldn't run for me, UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/frozendevs/ludumdare25/Dare25 : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
Guessing it doesn't like my jre version?

Deykoweec says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:35pm

Yes, this game requires JRE 1.7. If this game doesn't work for you, or you are having errors like this, try updating your Java.

blob says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:45am

RPG shooters ! i like that :)
Cool concept though I wish the game had a bit more punch ! I also had trouble seeing which weapon was ON or OFF.

tumoxep says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:55am

Very nice.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:59am

Gameplay was a bit lackning, but still fun. Good graphics.

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Nice game. Maybe its my screen brightness, but plasma bulle are hard to see for me (well, maybe I just need glasses though :D ).
Reminded me of Raptor:Call of the shadows.

PaulSB says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:24pm

Pretty fun shmup. The variety of bullets coming in worked well at times although the difficulty spiked around from almost nothing to pretty damn intense. Controls and visuals might benefit from some polish but it's a solid effort.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:00pm

Couldn't get it to launch on a mac..

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:19pm

On my netbook I was having some issues moving around the playing field. I would randomly get stuck in a particular spot, even while holding down an arrow.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:27am

Nice style of shoot-em-up, well done on a solid effort!

dekart says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:28am

Unfortunately, it doesn't run on my OSX 1.6 laptop. Got this error message in the console: Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

wlad says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:34pm

Amazing how many features you could implement in this short time! With sounds this would be twice as much fun as now :-) using the google-earth/moon/mars images is a good idea. In the mars mission I was really frustrated because an enemy ship came from the buttom up. I think the player should be warned before this happens

Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:49pm

Cool idea bro! O.O great job! :D

lotusgame says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:59pm

I updated java.. and it works ! Nice shoot-them-up by the way :) You have better implement the theme than us. Congrats !

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:39pm

Running this in an Ubuntu 12 VM with Oracle Java 7 and the app starts and shows the menu labels but no images are drawn at all and new game does not work (settings does, btw) so it's not getting to the image resources. I kept the hierachy intact ("res" dir next to fgg.jar) Not sure how to fix.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]