Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Lord Of Corruption

by HeroesGrave - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires Java 6 or higher

ATTENTION:
There have been a few comments saying it is too hard/they don't know how to win the level. If you are really stuck, read Spoilers.txt and have another go. Also there should be some info in the comments. To win a level, get 250 orbs and take them to the chaos portal (the pink thing at the end of the level, then the corrupt skill will turn gold, allowing you to use it.

Story:

You are the new Lord of Corruption. Your ultimate goal is too devastate worlds with your chaotic powers. You have come to Planet Erth* where your master meet his doom at the hands of the Paladin's Order. Your mission is to find the Chaos Portals he left behind, and to use their power, along with the strange Blue Orbs dropped by dead Paladins, to corrupt/kill all living things, and block out light forever. Fortunately, the Paladins are still guarding the portals, so finding the blue orbs will be easy. Getting to the portal alive is the hard part. So you pick up your cursed sword, put on your chaotic armour, and step through the warp portal onto
Erth.

*Not a typo. I have creative names :P
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Controls:

Arrow Keys - Move/Jump
SPACE - Attack. Make sure you hold it down. DON'T press it rapidly and then complain it doesn't work. This is a feature, not a bug.
WASD - Special skills that consume Orbs.
Down Arrow - Special skill that has a cooldown.
P - Pause
F12 - Screenshot
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
How to win:

You goal is to corrupt the entire world. To do this, you must collect 250 orbs from the Paladin's Order who were sent to stop you, find the chaos portal, and use the corruption power (the S key). Once this is done, you will move to the next level. At the end of the last level, the screen fades to black forever. Don't complain that it stopped working. If you want, copy the levels from /res/levels/bonus into the /res/levels directory, and then it will move on to the bonus levels when you finish.

If you get stuck at any point, look at "Spoilers.txt" and see if that helps. ONLY IF YOU'RE STUCK.

If you want to make your own levels, see "How to Make Your Own Levels.txt" and have fun messing around.

If you want to mod it, or find out how something works, download the source and start hacking away at it (Hopefully you have the JDK and some Java IDE).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#418Mood2.68
#427Graphics2.79
#441Overall2.83
#467Fun2.63
#467Theme2.97
#486Innovation2.60
#628Humor1.79

Comments

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:42pm

Decent game overall. Somehow, I never had enough orbs to use any special skill besides healing, though. Must be me playing badly. :) Good effort on graphics and level generation.

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:48pm

If you have lots of trouble, read the spoilers.

rolfeth says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:56pm

Quite cool actually. Except i couldent figure out what to do with the big pink thingy in the end. I figured its easiest if you stand on a ledge and let enemies jump.

Flying cloak is awesome! :D

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Fairly fun. I couldn't really afford anything except healing, unfortunately. I ended up dying twice and quitting, because not keeping your orbs is a little too harsh, I think. It's very difficult to get them, and the only use is healing.

Overall, fun!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:58pm

At first I didn't notice that health and orbs was shown in the title bar, but that's kind of a cool feature.

Nanofus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07pm

I like it. :) The gameplay is solid and entertaining. The graphics are nice, but some kind of background would have been a good addition. The level generation is an awesome feature. Sounds would have been nice, too.

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07pm

If you manage to have full health, and more orbs than last time you had full health, then healing is worth it.
You can get your orbs back by killing the paladins who took them (unless the paladins use them to heal)

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:08pm

I have never done sound before. Will try it next LD.
I was not sure whether to add a background as it may ruin the feel, so I left it out.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:08pm

Everytime I respaw i'm full of enemies to kill... like that. Heheheh

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:27pm

good job. with some additional work it can be interesting game. i would add more weapons and random map generation
no music and sounds is bad

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Seems pretty solid, but I keep getting overwhelmed by paladins and die before I get anywhere.

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:31pm

I knew I should have made it easier.

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:40pm

I think the order of the Paladins have a serious flaw in their attack plan. If they just took all of their orbs and put them in a box somewhere, there'd be no risk of me corrupting the world :) Great game.

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:08am

But it would be easier to steal a box than kill 50 paladins
And anyway, the paladins collect orbs so they can heal.

jujule says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:02am

Made me think of Tiny Barbarian with a twist. I like the special skills. Definitely my kind of game.
This is a really good basis for a more ambitious game with a good story mode and more variety in the sceneries and the enemies.

epiplon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:45pm

I couldn't get far. Enemiess attacking too fast got me desperate, while I was dying and trying to hold down the key.
Sorry, it was not a pleasant experience to me.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:13am

It's a nice balance of managing your resources with the orb, but at some point it felt grindy. Still pretty cool game with the special powers.

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:27pm

Well, there were never any plans to take this game further, which was my goal this time as planning to take it further results in scope creep.
However, I did make a few new code advances which will be used in a similar style (but different themed) game.

Special thank you to everyone who has rated the game so far.

mikkelin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:38pm

Made it to world 2. Cool game.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:46am

Really good start here, with some balancing and tuning and some more work it could be really something special. Great job.

myachin says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:48am

doesnt work on my videocard(

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:11am

It would help if you mentioned what video card you have. :)

Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:59pm

Nice, sound and music would be nice.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:28am

Nice entry ! All this stuff done in 48h. Congrats ! I had fun :)

StMatn says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:35am

Very cool game! Was a bit annoying to collect all those orbs, but its fun anyway. Good work

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]