December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Escape

by godan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The zombie apocalypse came and went. The humans won, and are now hunting down the remaining zombies. You are a zombie leader, and your task is to safely guide escaping (but villainous...) zombies into their home under the abandoned quarry. But be careful! The Quarry is treacherous.

***How to Play***

- WASD to move around.
- Holding Left CTRL will freeze your view.
- LMB to create a stopping zone. Click it again to remove.
- Basically, try to stop the zombies from walking into the stone slides, by creating these stopping zones.
- Getting hit by rocks will eventually kill you.
- The blue bar tells you how many zombies you've saved. You need that bar to go to the top of the screen to win.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Mood3.40
#240Innovation3.13
#278Graphics3.16
#284Audio2.65
#600Overall2.56
#667Fun2.09
#692Humor1.47
#723Theme2.04
#742Coolness46%

Comments

impulse9 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:48am

Woah ... this game is psychedelic! Half of the time I have no idea what's going on but that's not important because the mood is just so damn great. Love it!

Quarry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:38pm

I'm treacherous?

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:24pm

great mood :)

Biped says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Reminded me of Lemmings :o)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:59pm

Good mood here ! How did you manage to make all the character animation, textures and sound in 48h ?! wow

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07pm

It's like Lemmings, Zombie edition. :) This could also work if the camera was just free-floating.

godan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:02pm

@Edocentrique: Used Mecanim + NavAgent (Unity) for the character animation. I really wanted to get the zombies to figure out paths around the rock slides, but well, there it is....

maiev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:57pm

Animations and textures are really amazing for 48 hours. Great concept although I was also very confused on how to actually play (even after reading the directions and playing around) but I can definitely see the potential here.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:07am

Hard to play. It took me 10mn to figure out what to do. The white color of persons inspires me to consider them as revenants or ghosts, not zombies ;) Like being Hades himself ! Good work !

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 5:27pm

The movement of the rock spawning places means I can just wait and eventually enough of my dudes will enter the blue cylinder of salvation. Mood is good with proper sounds and looks. Characters were more like souls than zombies so the theme connection is a bit tenuous. But overall great amount of content and functionality for 2 days!

csanyk says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:10am

On the web version, I found the mouse control to be very erratic and hard to control. Also, I did not feel very villainous, given that I was saving humanoids. Granted they are zombies, but I only know that because I read the instructions. They don't really FEEL like zombies, though.

Good job with the lighting and sounds.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]