December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A Villain Project

by tmt_01 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You need to catch humans by trap.
Controls are simple - only left mouse button.
There is a tutorial in game, so I'll not write here too much.

P.S. You need .Net 4.0 to play!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#230Theme3.50
#342Humor2.60
#523Innovation2.52
#584Mood2.35
#656Fun2.14
#668Graphics2.09
#685Overall2.33

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:24pm

I like how everyone walks like they're having a stroke. Goat was funny too. Made me laugh. I think a meteor should be an instant kill though :P

Joncom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:03am

I love the meteor effect. Neat idea overall!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:13pm

Herding spastic people and a goat.. Good originality.

tmt_01 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:38pm

I'm sorry for my walking animation, guys. I was too lazy to remake it. :)

I'll probably do a post-compo version of this game, with normal animation, sounds and maybe something else.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:16pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:23pm

I think the meteor should have a bigger damage area.

doos says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:25pm

sorry, i get a 404

jmaasing says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:40pm

Sorry, can't rate, do not have windows.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:46pm

lol, keep the walk anim, it's hilarious! :D

There's a nice idea in here and the herding mechanic is quite tricky. Some very basic FX would be nice.

Cabral says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Sounds would've been nice of course, but I liked the graphics, for the most part (the whole thing seemed to move way too fast, but it wasn't ugly).

The big flaw here is really the gameplay. You ALWAYS win by simply not doing anything, and all the humans & goat will walk in to the trap by themselves in a matter of seconds. And everything moves kind of fast... It didn't feel like there was much gameplay at all, even before I discovered the exploit.

Nick Cash says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:49am

Goat Trapped: True ... XD

Very amusing, although I found killing all of the humans to be more fun than trapping them.

Msquirrel says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:40am

Liked it, quite humorous and included a goat, nice!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]