Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Cure 48 - SonnyBone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Earth is ravaged by a terrible plague, and the only cure lies on a distant planet. Your job is to harvest as much of the cure as possible and return to Earth safely.

BE A HERO!

SAVE THE WORLD!

FOUR HIDDEN MEDALS TO UNLOCK
THREE POSSIBLE RANKS TO EARN

---------
Controls (Windows version)
---------

Up, Down, Left, Right - Movement
Z - Attack
ESC - Exit Game
F4 - Toggle Full-Screen

---------

Post-mortem / analysis:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/20/cure-48-post-mortem-and-theme-analysis/

View SonnyBone's journal. | View all entries by SonnyBone

Ratings

Coolness100%
#4Audio4.10
#12Mood4.02
#28Overall3.88
#30Graphics4.19
#114Fun3.41
#132Theme3.74
#260Innovation3.09
#461Humor2.24

Comments

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:38am

Program closes out with no error. Running on 64-bit Windows 7, also tried compatibility mode.

It does look really nice from the screenshots, though.

impulse9 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Same problem here. There is a splash screen, but the program closes after it. (Also on x64 Win7)

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55pm

GAH!!! Thanks for letting me know. I think it was an audio error. I re-compressed the audio files so now the EXE is half as big as before. I tested it and it seems to be working on my desktop and laptop, but let me know if the problem continues.

I'm still trying to get a web version ready but it isn't going so well. :(

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:38pm

Yeah, I'm not gonna be able to supply a web version this time. Sorry, guys. The game just isn't being very friendly. Tried in several browsers and all give me different results. Far too much work after already burning myself out on this one.

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:38pm

I played for about 2 minutes when I couldn't attack anymore. Then i got stuck in some of those monsters and died :/ The graphics are awesome and i really loved the music. How did you do this in just 48 hours?

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Worked without problems on Windows 7 x64 (at least now). Nice idea and mind bending at work.

agumaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:39pm

really cool game, graphics are great and gameplay too. Very "ART-GAME". And the reflexion is the best it has. Hope you win this compo

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:42pm

Game's size is pretty big, because of the amazing graphisms, i guess. Good job !

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:43pm

Not working for me either. Loads for a second, then crashes. Must really suck to be in this situation. :/
Favourited until later if you fix it, anyway. <3

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:53pm

this game is perfect ;O the ending is like the icing on the cake ;O wow welldone this is awesome, only thing is sometimes you get stuck when slimes spawn when your running back. But wow that had such an impact. I killed the slimes the first time but then i died when i got the cure. Then the second and third time i just ran through because i couldnt be bothered to kill them. But the ending made me think why should i be bothered to kill innocent thingss. Very thoughful and intresting game.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:53pm

Yeah, that's odd. Some people get the crash. Some don't. ARGGG! The version you're downloading now should be about 9MB. It was originally 22MB before I re-compressed the audio files in an attempt to fix the crashes. I guess it didn't fix it. Thanks for trying, everyone!

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Overall I thought the game was really cool. The game is really nice, and the ending really does make you think. (You've got to admit that just about everyone started killing the slime...) The feel I'm getting from the graphics and music is really nice. All in all, its a really nice game, and I would love to see more added on.

TheH says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12pm

Pretty interesting concept. I like how you used the theme, very different in terms of presentation.

only complaint I can think of is that sometimes the slimes are next to you, but the swing doesn't go all the way down, so you can't hit them.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18pm

This was a really really good game. Almost everything about it was super good. Nice graphics, nice music, nice sound effects and really decent mood (for instance when you attack the final plant the music stops, that's nice DRAMA). The ending and conclusion would have been better (for me) if removing their main plant or whatever caused their planet to be devastated instead, but I guess yours is fine too! So far this is probably the best one I've played, good job!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:38am

Oooh very good. Great graphics and audio, wonderful ending. :)

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:42am

I'm such an villain ;_;

Gungnir says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:45am

One of the better games I have played so far, love the soundtrack too :)

bentosmile says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:54am

I love the art. :D So nice!

Maristak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:58am

This game was just AWESOME! I really have nothing to say. Well done, hope you win this compo

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:25am

Thanks for the plays and comments, everyone!

And did bentosmile just say "love the art" ??? From bentosmile? That's like Hendrix saying "nice solo". THANKS!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:43pm

I love the way you press the theme here, and I'm also really fond of the musical score! I expected nothing less from the guy who did ZUNZANDA though. :)

I didn't understand why all of a sudden in the last screen my weapon went away, though. What happened?

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:48pm

Yeah that last part was something that got cut due to time limits. Your 'sword' breaks. There's a slight animation there that shows it kind of sparking but I didn't have time to make it more obvious. I also had a much more elaborate intro and outro sequence planned ala ZUNZANDA, but that also got cut. Thanks for the play and comment!

I'm trying to play and rate the games of those that play and comment on mine first, so I'll get to yours soooon.

killmonday says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:16pm

Very clever ending :) Overall awesome

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:20pm

It's original and nice :)

Sanguine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:13pm

I really loved the audio!

bach says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:59pm

Great entry, in every aspect. Enjoyed this!

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:00pm

Nice style and music. Found the large blobs a little frustrating as they seemed to line up to attack me just a few pixels to low for me to strike back. Otherwise a pretty cool entry!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:02pm

Really great game. It ran smooth, the gameplay was simple and slick, and the graphics were nice. I loved fleeing for my life at the end of the game!

sauronz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Beautifull and entertaining game! Love playing it

Fireblend says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Awesome! Loved the music and the graphics, and I thought that the "TV filter" made it look pretty great. Amazing work!

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:19pm

Nice use of theme. :) The big slimes not-quite-lining up was annoying though, before I realized how to kill them without taking damage.

I was confused about the weapon, too, until I checked the comments.

Sweet music!

Meep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:24pm

This was awesome! The graphics/audio and overall gameplay were great. I feel it wasn't clear what collectibles were supposed to look like at first, but that's just me. Great work!

krutech says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Nice! lovely art for an ld48. I felt sorry for hitting anything at all when i finished =(
Good point, theme followed. =)

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:20am

I absolutely love the graphical style and the music in this game, and it's just compelling to walk around smashing crops. Brings out the Harvest Moon player in me.

I wasn't completely sure how to avoid getting hit by red blobs following you as soon as you entered a new room, but that didn't do much damage anyway.

Really enjoyed it, nice one.

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:18am

Hey Sonny, Awesome game like always. The art style is really put together nicely, and I loved the songs.

Quick comments on the game: when you switch screens, keyboard input stops - so if I was pressing right to move, I'd have to release the button and press it again to keep moving - that is kinda bad in the final sequence, when you want to hurry the player. Like you mentioned before, the "sword breaking" animation is kinda hard to notice. I actually realized what was happening on my second playthrough, but the first time around I thought it was a bug.

Also, on my last playthrough, I decided to go through the game without killing any enemies, and without catching any pellets - the game ended as soon as I reached the spaceship screen (I didn't need to go under the ship) - and I got no rank! Is it supposed to be that way? I managed to get two ranks (villain and hero) and the top three medals.

Anyway, now for some more rambling:
When I was 3/4 of the way into the dare, I finally realized that something like this could fit the theme as well: you play a normal game, thinking you are the hero, but in the end you see the game from the other side and realize you were the villain. I'm happy that you took this route, it was an awesome game. To be honest, I kinda realized what was going on right away, and managed to finish my first and second playthrough without killing any slimes. I was surprised on my "villain" playthrough to realize that the slimes also held cures inside them. That makes the killing of slimes a little bit justifiable, doesn't it?

Do you have any hints for the bottom medal and the third rank?

Anyway, thanks for the great game!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:15am

Thanks! Glad to hear from you again.

There are four ranks: Villain, Hero, Perfect Hero, and 'nothing'
There are four medals: Killer, Collector, Defender, and Feeder

The slimes contain the 'cure' because the cure is their food source. When a small slime eats a cure, they grow into a large slime. This is one of those things that you rarely see, but there are areas with large concentrations of the small slimes with cures nearby so there's a greater chance of seeing it there. It was definitely meant to be a rare occurrence, which is why the last medal is also so rare. If this happens 3 times, you get the final medal.

I'm gonna post all this and much more in a post-mortem very soon, which I will link to within the game info above.

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:45am

Damn! The "feeder" medal is genius. Kicking myself on the head for not finding it.

Maybe you should add some rule that the small slimes follow you for a bit if you are really close to them? That would make the "feeder" thing a bit more likely to happen.

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:46am

Killing a big slime, and having a small slime eat the resulting "cure" sounds like a particularly cruel thing to do :-)

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:19am

Yeah there's SO MUCH I wanted to implement but time just ran out. I had a lot of crashes the first night and I probably lost about 6 hours. I was going to have the mini slimes sort of trail behind you and then they would actively seek out the cures.

blob says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:30am

Great take on the theme and very nice story telling once again. Loved the musics and the graphical effects on the screen border !
As you might be able to guess from my nickname, I was extremely careful to never harm one of my own.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:45pm

^ HAHAHA

AyCe says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:28pm

Wow! This gets full on mood, because I was literally trembling of "what will happen next?". Also, nice and very fitting sound, graphics and... well... yeah the story. I played it twice: First I collected everything, tried to attack that volcano, destroyed my sword, ran away, and got stuck in one of the slimes. The second time I tried collecting all (75 ?) res, and went back to my start, but nothing happened? So you are actually intended to fail? Anyway, was a really "scary" game - in its own way :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:02pm

the chase was *awesome*. Fantastic mood and music as well, full marks!

cardboard says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:28am

The music was awesome and just made the mood even more intense, especially during the return trip. Great ending.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:08am

Theme Analysis posted for those that have already completed the game: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/20/cure-48-post-mortem-and-theme-analysis/
I'd love to hear your thoughts.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:44am

Ooooh, very nice game. The presentation was splendid and the music was great as well. But what I liked most was the message you had at the end :3
I didn't mindlessly kill all the blobs actually, but that was only because I'd played a game like this before (Strangers by JW http://slordig.thepoppenkast.com/) and I felt very bad afterwards about killing kind aliens :(

wzl says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:37pm

Very awesome. I had a feel you'd been going for a twist like that. Too much spoilers in the description ;)
Love the appeal and the great sountrack!
Very nice entry!

minireview: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#SonnyBone
I also added your entry to the list of featured games \o

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:48pm

Noted. Semi spoilers removed. :)

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:59pm

Really really great game. Best I've seen yet. Love the art, the music, the ending. Gameplay was very clean. Really good.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:55pm

I never gave THAT amount of stars before! This is my favorite in the whole compo (for now...of course, I don't know what tomorrow will be). This game is just perfect on every point, and my first playthrough was full of doubt.
First I harvested the plants, then I saw a blob, and of course, killed it. I thought "hey, this is gonna be easy!", I kept on fighting blobs and harvesting when I realised blobs weren't attacking me. So I stopped being a bad guy, dodged the blobs, and harvested the plants. And then, THEN, I step accidentally on a blob, and at this very moment, my head exploded : "WHAT ?! They don't even HURT me ?!" I felt SOOOO bad for the blops I killed before, and decided to never kill a blob even again. Facing the queen, I harvested softly the plants around her, to not wake her up, and went back to the shuttle. I was very disapointed to see I couldn't take off yet...So I did what you wanted me to do : I attacked the queen and felt terrible. You made me a villain.

Then I played thrice more, but never found the 4th medal :(

As I said, this game is awesome, and this is the one I would like to see with a gold medal.

I only got two things to complain about :
- I would have loved to come back to earth without fighting the queen, as I expected on my first run.
- The ending text screen. Seriously, your game is so good you really don't need those explanations. It sounds like a "I failed to convey what I wanted so I explain it to you", but you, as a matter of fact, didn't fail AT ALL.


"Oh...why do I kill those guyes ? I could just dodge them and take the cure from the plants", Then I reallob

Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Nice art and music.

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:10am

was a little disappointed that the end text doesn't change based on whether you're hero or villain. i played right into your hands, though, and felt like a shithead for killing that one poor blobby.

hypp says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:09pm

Really enjoyed this, especially the music and the different endings

Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:23am

I liked it quite a lot!
Your source link is broken, if this is made in GM, I may be able to do a Mac port for you!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Excellent twist!

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:45pm

Good Job! Nice entry and I like the theme's view!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Very nice use of the theme, visuals and background music. Was fun to play. Some things you should fix:

- If I change to another screen and still press the walking button, I should be able to continue walking insteaf of releasing the button and press it again.
- Sometimes it was difficult to hit an enemy (depending on the direction he comes).

brantkings says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Maybe would be better with a superior pacing and more gameplay mechanics, but sincerely your use of the theme is among the best till now. Sensational.

Mago says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:26pm

Absolutely brilliant! Everything in this game kicks ass but the best is ending. Great and really deep game. Awesome job!

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:04pm

GREAT music with nice pixel art makes the great mood. I enjoyed it. Good job!

bentog says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:25pm

First of all, the game has a very fun gameplay. The art is beautiful, and with the great audio it makes an awesome mood. Finally, the ending reflection makes the theme really great. Congratulations!

zompi says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:08pm

Graphics and atmosphere is fantastic! But when I was trying to escape from those red slimes I've always stucked on next screen and die. And I couldn't kill them. So it's hard to judge the game when I can't see the ending (I don't know what it has common with theme) but... overall is rather good :)

Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Nice! The twist was great even though I managed to figure it out myself and in the end I was a Hero for not killing anything.

I really liked the graphics, sounds, everything. Really solid entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]