About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 17 hours, 0 minutes, 9 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 17 hours, 12 minutes, 9 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 18 hours, 0 minutes, 9 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Captain Torrent - sev_inf - Jam Entry

    Meet Ulfgar Torrent - captain of real pirate ship of media age. His crimes are the most horrible crimes of a modern times - copyright violations. If you produce music, make films or create video games (yes, even for Ludum Dare) he will find you and he will take your creation off you not paying any single piastra. Beware!

    Instructions:
    - Shoot cannonballs with a left mouse button.
    - Shoot at enemy's cannonballs to avoid the damge.

    View sev_inf's journal. | View all entries by sev_inf

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #21Humor(Jam)3.74
    #32Theme(Jam)3.96
    #82Mood(Jam)3.27
    #92Audio(Jam)3.25
    #107Graphics(Jam)3.56
    #108Overall(Jam)3.31
    #112Fun(Jam)3.08
    #177Innovation(Jam)2.79

    Comments

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:22am

    Wish I could vote, but didn't get something made in time for this LD. Did want to mention that your game was easy to play, and fun to play.

    rinaka says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:49am

    Fun and humorous game, nice graphics too. I liked the "media industry damage" tally at the end, and the choice of using the same "pirate flag" as life meter for the other ships.

    The short pause after three or so shots was a good idea too, otherwise it would be a matter of spamming cannonballs all day.

    The only suggestion I have is to draw the cannonballs in front of the black sail -- especially the ones fired by the enemy ship.

    suve says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:49am

    I laughed out loud seeing this. Great, humorous idea. The gameplay itself wasn't anything special, but the sheer fun of being Captain Torrent made it definitely worth the time.

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:32am

    Very nice idea, and great graphics. I seem to be able to get cannonballs to fire stupidly fast at low angles, though. But then I guess pirates can break the laws of physics as well as international copyright.

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:44am

    Awesome. A very solid game.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:36am

    Love the power ups!

    lur says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:00pm

    Very nice game, but surely the media industry damage is way understated. Isn't it like a Sagan dollars per song?

    Peping says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:38pm

    Nice and funny game. The idea is very humourous and I like the gameplay mechanic.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:32pm

    Great idea, nice graphics, but it could've used some more variety because it gets repetitive.
    Also, it doesn't have any sound effects or music.

    TDRGames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    Simplistic, but unlike so many HTML5 entries, this has decent sound, music, graphics, and controls. Being able to shoot incoming cannonballs makes it kinda interesting :)

    If you don't hear sound/music, try Chrome or Safari. They only support MP3 and Firefox only supports OGG due to patent BS, so we poor HTML5 devs have to transcode both. Damn media industry!!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:53pm

    har har har evil pirates :P but a bit easy

    someone says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:04pm

    Awesome. Great entry.
    The cannon sound wasn't very cannon-y.
    Being able to spam cannonballs at high speed at low angles seemed a bit off.
    Also I didn't realise you could shoot down cannonballs until I read the comments.

    Maple says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:12pm

    Lol. Also, It could have been more difficult. (Aside from) I noticed when you shoot directly sideways, the cannon balls shoot out really fast and far, making you able to get an enemies health down before it got on screen.

    Volute says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:20am

    This one made me laugh ! "Give me media" !
    I like that you can counter a cannonball with a cannonball.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]