December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

An Barun Rua

by iandioch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What kind of villain would you be if you'd never made a rooftop escape?
Inspired by Canabalt, but with what I think is a pretty unique art style - everything is in shades of red!
The title is in Irish, and means "The Red Baron". The rest of the game is in Irish too :3 I'll upload a post-compo version in English so you can understand the story. I'll add goats to the post-compo version too.
This was kind of a warmup for my Irish Indie Challenge 2013. You can join in that too! http://iandioch.wordpress.com/challenge/

So, enjoy! My second Ludum Dare, twas a blast, see you all in the new year for some more jamming madness!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#295Audio2.62
#309Graphics3.07
#378Humor2.48
#546Theme2.78
#553Mood2.42
#596Overall2.57
#603Fun2.30
#709Innovation2.00

Comments

ddionisio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:27am

I have to agree, it's a pretty nice art style. I can't rate the humor yet until there's an English version or I learn the language!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:49pm

Not bad, nice graphics. Pretty difficult though. Wish the character would die when he actually exits the screen completely, now it's bit too easy to die.

Nsmurf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:40am

Great idea, but it tends to lag for me :(

fishbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:53am

Nice little game, but quite tricky. I like the artwork.

oborux says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:49pm

Not many games as gaeilge, nice graphics + theme :-)

sauronz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:30pm

This game is very nice, I hope you can develop it more. Art style is indeed unique and pleasing, everything red look beautifull and harmonious. I like this kind of games but i'm getting a bit of lag when I try to jump and that makes it a bit tricky and frustrating.
Music is great.

I hope to see more and I'll make sure to follow your Irish Indie Challenge 2013.

i just noticed in the intro the image of the hand with the button, there's 6 fingers on the hand :D lol

iandioch says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:01am

Oh Jesus you're right. How on earth did I manage that? I also noticed that two seconds before he goes to hit the button, he's holding a gun in that hand... :3

Thanks for the kind words everyone! I'll have a look at this lag. But I think I need to play all your games first!

Mase says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:14am

Took me a while to realize that holding space builds up his jumping height. It's a little uncomfortable not jumping instantly for this kind of game.
Cool intro and music.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:25am

Can't run!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Good work here! Lemme break down my thoughts:

+It's a funny concept for sure.
+It's in Irish!
+It's got a nicely uniform art style, which I wish I could say for my game.

-Not jumping immediately after keypress can really through you off.
-The difficulty is a little high.

But yeah, I like ending on a positive note. So again, good job!

Folis says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:47pm

I really liked this game!
Even though you said it was "easy" for some weird reason (maybe because I suck arse in platformers) I actually thought, that it was quite hard!

I also loved the music :)

azurenimbus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:43am

Fun stuff! I really like the style and I kinda loved not knowing what the hell was being said, I think it added a nice touch to the game. Haha.

The jumping mechanic is an interesting addition to the runner genre (at least I've never played one that had that). I wonder what could be done with it. Definitely worth exploring and polishing.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Quite tricky and got frustrated quite quickly. I liked the look of the game though, nice colour scheme.

Drabiter says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:39am

Freeze on linux Mint 14 Java 7.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:00pm

Good work. I Like the art style.

iandioch says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Drabiter: Freeze on startup, or mid-game? Were you playing the Webstart or Applet, and the Irish or English version?

dek says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:12pm

Nice art style / graphics. Controls felt a bit clutch, and sometimes the character just stopped walking on a straight line :(

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:50am

I just couldn't get the jumping to work well. Not sure why. I kept dying no matter how I tried to jump.

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:15pm

It's hard to see sometimes if you need to jump up to a 1mm higher roof or if need to jump over a gap but other than that it's nice. Especially liked the all red gfx. :)

xgeovanni says ...
Jan 15, 2013 @ 7:31pm

I'm definitely going to steal the idea of using Irish soon. Adh mor ort.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]