December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

SUPER Villain Hook Fighter (LD25 Edition)

by Geoege - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Let's see who is de meanest Villain in the world. Fight the others Evil geniuses with you brand new invention : THE HOOK !

Tips:

Player 1:
Q:Aim Left
D:Aim Right
Z:Hook
S:Fire

Player 2:
K:Aim Left
M:Aim Right
O:Hook
L:Fire

I UPLOADED A VERSION FOR QWERTY KEYBOARD, YOU CAN GET IT ON THE WEB LINK !

Player 1:
Q:Aim Left
D:Aim Right
Z:Hook
S:Fire

Player 2:
Left arrow:Aim Left
Right arrow:Aim Right
Up arrow:Hook
Down arrow:Fire

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#128Humor3.26
#167Innovation3.30
#226Fun3.13
#253Graphics3.22
#263Audio2.72
#263Overall3.17
#290Theme3.39
#341Mood2.82

Comments

Robotic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:48pm

I heavily recommand anyone who has a friend nearby to play this game, it's freakin fun. The only fighting game where you can play as the Ring versus Nazi Joker.

juaxix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:53pm

crazy game

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:56pm

There's absolutely nothing to be said against the splatter effect! :)
Controls are a bit off, but it's rather fun when you have a friend to play against.

Adok says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:28pm

Apparently this was made for a French keyboard. On a regular keyboard the keys feel weird.

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:46pm

Maybe try to alt+shift (it switch keyboard language on mine)

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Awesome game, this is probably the craziest game I played so far in LD48. BTW, how did you create those physical particles in GM?

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:11pm

@Faust For particles i just made object which is creeated 200 times with random direction and angle. There is 3 different particles types so 3 objects and like 600 particles.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15pm

Didn't really feel the controls with this one, and the gameplay was a bit basic for the most part. Did like the hook idea though!

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:16pm

Oh man, I wish I had someone here right now to try this. The controls are super weird but it's workable. I love the over-the-top particle death and the various characters with different projectiles. Didn't expect to play a fighter in this LD... especially one with this innovative hook mechanic. RAD STUFF!

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:33pm

I was trying to play with myself (madnesss!), controls are strange but the game is so hillarious and funny that I only can like it :D

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:02pm

Web link leads to .EXE download.

Geoege says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:32pm

Yeah, changed the name link now.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:08pm

Like the nod to Super Street Fighter in the logo. Don't have a 2nd player so can't really judge playability. Very nice graphical style and fitting BG music. Cool!

antonijn says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:34am

The controls are really awkward. Nice blood effect though!

Nolan C says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:20pm

This game looks crazy, I gotta save it for when a friend comes over.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:57pm

Good job. Wish there was an AI.

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:35pm

I never ever see something like this. Moving with hooks and instakill? Awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]