December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Fry Fleshlings Fast

by zeh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use lasers to fry fleshlings.

Click and drag to deploy a laser.

Lasers fry the aforementioned fleshlings, but also cut their walking path.

Try directing them towards the same location and them frying all of them at once.

PS.: There are two Android versions. One is small (800kb) and needs Adobe AIR installed. The other one is bigger (9.6mb) and doesn't need AIR installed because it's bundled. This bundled ("captive") version also requires an "Internet access" permission because the AIR packager forces that. It doesn't use Internet for anything. If you're unsure, check the source or download the standard version that needs AIR.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Innovation3.63
#100Fun3.44
#103Theme3.80
#225Overall3.25
#244Graphics3.25
#1027Coolness24%

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:49pm

LAZZER Nice game you made here ^.^

radmars says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:04pm

It is scary how incredibly satisfying to murder all of the dudes. :D

loren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:47pm

awesome idea, love the smoke effects and art style in general, nice job!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:51pm

Good use of lasers :D

voidstar69 says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:09am

Great concept. Love the gameplay. The Android version freezed up quite quickly on my Samsung Galaxy S3, after about 30 seconds of play.

Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:27am

This was really great fun while it lasted. Unfortunately my browser choked and died after five lasers. I noticed it was kind of slow and stuttery to start with, though.

Really, aside from that I have to give this some credit for having a great presentation.

zeh says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:05pm

@voidstar69, @recursive frog: after each laser is fired, there's a bunch of sprites that are created to draw the laser trails as it burns the ground and added do an overlay over the terrain. Hundreds of sprites can be created with that and of course after a while it starts making everything slow (even if they're just instances of the same texture). I have implemented a mechanism to flatten those sprites into a single texture after a number of them are spawned (and then removing the original sprites), so it'll save on performance and carry on creating as many trails as needed...

...but that fails in some situations (both desktop and Android versions). Something to do with the GPU mode/Stage3D version and the Context3D type possible. And I wasn't able to find a good solution for that in time so it's something that still exists. Sorry for that.

voidstar69 says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:21pm

@zeh I just tried this game for the first time on my PC. It works great! Lots of fun killing those fleshlings!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]