December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Grey Goo Turbo Challenge

by Bemmu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arrow keys or WASD. Scientists were meddling with self-replicating nanobots when things got our of control and a huge rolling grey goo scenario escaped to the main road. They have tried to put a stop to it by spreading red sticky nanogoo all over the road, but due to a bug in the nanocode some of it has turned into beneficial (or is it) green goo instead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#467Fun2.63
#489Audio2.00
#549Overall2.67
#560Mood2.41
#587Humor1.92
#625Innovation2.30
#640Graphics2.17
#755Theme1.64
#930Coolness33%

Comments

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:08am

cool concept!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:02am

Nice work.

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:59am

Controls work well. Would like to see more powerups. Good job

rylgh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:59am

Whoo, beat it! Simple and fun. I liked how at some points you didn't want to hit the green squares because they would have ran you into red ones.

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:59am

The game play wasn't really indicative to the theme. It was mildly entertaining, but I wish there was more. It had some good potential.

heisenbug says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:03am

Damn those Icy Roads!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:12am

Pretty fun, although checkpoints would be big improvement

Xavier says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Nice job! But I would have preferred to control a less polygonal character :-)

Houly says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Felt pretty good to control.

sPe says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:14pm

Nice graphics style but movements and clipping is a bit too sketchy.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:09pm

The left/right movement was far too quick making it hard to control the goo. Needs things that the goo can eat otherwise what is the point of being a grey-goo.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]