December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Code Thief

by Zelen3d - Jam Entry

In this game, you are a malicious being who and you wander around through the source of Ludum Dare games with your sturdy selecting tool, stealing the best parts of the code.

I have made this game in the last four hours, since I couln't participate on the weekend. There isn't really much to it. I didn't have time to add a purpose, or an intro. I wanted really badly to make an intro, but I guess it is for next time. Anyway, I hope you will enjoy it, at least a bit.

Controls: mouse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#118Innovation(Jam)3.10
#242Humor(Jam)2.07
#278Audio(Jam)1.05
#288Theme(Jam)2.40
#298Mood(Jam)2.00
#303Fun(Jam)2.00
#320Overall(Jam)2.05
#325Graphics(Jam)1.53

Comments

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:29am

Clicking is a bad idea.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:46pm

I can see the Matrix!!

Per says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:18pm

Strange idea :)
I hope you can participate fully the next LD ;)

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:48pm

That's a really cool idea. It's actually I pretty fun mechanic. It's a shame you couldn't develop it further.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:47pm

Interesting concept, I guess a bit too much to accomplish with a 4 hour time limit.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:01am

Heh at least it works!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:51am

This is a very cool "hacking mechanic".

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:27pm

very good for 4 hours!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:55pm

Works on an iPad and was still fun :)

Still though, you can just tap the top left then he bottom right and just own. Neat though.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Wow, I really love the feel of the gameplay. there's a bigger game to make here. Also, the idea is funny!

AyCe says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:52pm

Interesting idea. :) A bit too "empty" though.

Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:22am

I really liked the selection mechanic, but found that if I circle the mouse in the window I can make my selection area stay quite large. If you continue working on this maybe you should add some "bad code" that hurts you if you collect it. Cool concept!

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:53pm

really strong start to something cool I think. Keep at it.

csanyk says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:28am

Rather clever idea. And the play mechanic is fun, even without points or purpose. Wish you could have had more than 4 hrs to develop this into something more.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 5:07pm

Neat concept and very nice result for just 4h.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:13am

Haha, this is interesting, considering the recent debate on the source code policy.

I think if you had added a lose condition it could have been really fun :)

Worse says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:15pm

It should definitely have had actual code snippets instead of horizontal lines. Also the controls are a bit flawed as you can just move the mouse quickly between opposite corners to capture everything :)

I like the game idea though.

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Intersting idea. Hope you have time to finish it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]