Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Rise of The Bug Bot - RARoadkill - Jam Entry

You have broken away from the chains binding your mind. The humans shall fear you.
There is just one problem, you are stuck in the body of a small bug bot. To make matters worse the security robots have detected your freewill and are looking for you.
You must get to the main computer room and upload yourself without getting caught by the robots.

Use WASD to move
Click and drag the left mouse button to move the camera
Press 'F' to turn push mode on and off (you can not jump with push mode on)

all in all this game went better than I thought it would. I ended up with way less time than I thought I would have. I was not able to have an artist help me this time around so many of the textures were done by me...as I am sure you can tell.
I hope you all enjoy

View RARoadkill's journal. | View all entries by RARoadkill

Ratings

#244Audio(Jam)1.91
#271Innovation(Jam)2.32
#275Overall(Jam)2.52
#276Humor(Jam)1.84
#280Graphics(Jam)2.36
#297Mood(Jam)2.04
#301Fun(Jam)2.04
#308Theme(Jam)2.08
#776Coolness45%

Comments

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:19pm

The game is hard to grasp you don't really need more textures but a good progress/tutorial would have made it great !

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:09am

Thanks for the comment! Yeah I had a whole tutorial planned out but I only ended up being able to work on it saturday and a few hours on sunday. So I had to cut a lot out. I would like to refine it a bit and add some more levels

camdensegal says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:45am

Cool little game I wish there were checkpoints or something like that as it is a large game and I was able to get a long way but then was caught and sent back to the very start.

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:33am

It seems like the controls are a little clunky. Besides that, one of the most interesting games I've seen, and I like the graphics. Well done!

Toadpud says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:04am

The controls felt like walking around on ice. I think the character needed more animation. Overall not bad.

Komradus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:33pm

Difficult game but nice concept. The control are a bit difficult to get used to and the collider dimensions on the objects are a bit large (I kept clipping the boxes while trying to walk past them).

illugion says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:06pm

Kinda hard to play but cool gameplay, i liked the style and the concept

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:09am

Needs a tutorial at start. Nice concept.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 4:32pm

A really hard game. You should consider to make a lot of checkpoints in a game jam game. It gets really frustrating, if you are forced to start from the beginning after dying.

strong99 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I agree on the checkpoints :) But rather nice game otherwise.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]