December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Growth

by Manuel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click to split. Split to grow. Grow to kill.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#110Theme3.79
#187Innovation3.25
#231Mood3.04
#288Overall3.13
#305Graphics3.08
#430Audio2.20
#657Fun2.13
#700Humor1.41
#742Coolness46%

Comments

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:30am

Very interesting game, though some instructions would have been nice.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:32am

I do not really get it. Cancer? Ok. nice take on the theme. But if there is any interaction I couldn't find it. Once started everything happens on its own (at least thats what it feels like to me)

namuol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:45am

Such an unlikely villain. Gameplay was disturbingly straightforward and easy ... That "blip" sound took on a very odious feeling after a while. Nice work.

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:46am

An interesting concept, though I had no idea what I was doing at first. Didn't feel very difficult at all in the end though.

Manuel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47am

Thanks for rating! I added some simple instructions.

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47am

Cool! Didnt quite understand at first, but now i see :) Very interesting!

Ashkin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55am

Well, that was depressing :c
The gameplay was repetitive, but the mood made up for it. Cancer sucks.

caasi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:06am

Love the idea, love the message, love the effect, hate the disease.
No one can turn back the time.

Arakade says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:38am

Excellent. Slightly awkward on a laptop-sized screen but otherwise it's a winner. Perhaps offer it to some company/org /charity to raise awareness?

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:59am

Nice, but got slow near 10%, making it barely playable trough.

lur says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:45pm

Nicely done, quite disturbing.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25pm

so creepy, great mood

DragonKN says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:41pm

is it a game? nice concept

Houly says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:01pm

A sad little game. Didn't understand at first what I was doing, but thats okey in this context. Rita has to go through much…

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]