December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Skinner Box Simulator 2012

by Hemuuuli - 48 Hour Compo Entry

- Realistic game industry simulator
- Destroy creativity in video game industry
- Make money via unethical ways
- Buy off your competitors and create a monopoly
- Based on real life statistics and player researches
- ACHIEVEMENTS & GOAT!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#173Humor3.11
#230Theme3.50
#265Innovation3.08
#537Audio1.68
#539Mood2.45
#584Overall2.60
#668Graphics2.09
#685Fun2.04
#711Coolness47%

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:45am

I'm having trouble figuring out how to really do anything. It seems as though I can't start time without publishing a game, but even if I don't buy any targets up front I don't have the 50k to publish with...

raincole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:01am

The idea is cool! I always like such "meta" things. However it's just too challenging. I played 8 times and bankrupted 8 times. Maybe I don't want to ruin game industry in my heart of hearts lol.

Arcantic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:04am

A little too complex, especially when trying to appeal to someone who goes into it wanting to immediately have fun. But the complexity really adds nice depth to it!

Xymostech says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:17am

I really enjoyed this. Got all the games and all the money. And @crowbeak, you can change the type of game that you start with.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:32am

Seems really complicated. I wish I could take $50k loans that only need to repay $40k (assuming that's a bug, since it says $25k loan). With my money-making loan machine, I was able to buy out all the game industry and become a monopoly.

Doesn't seem villainous so much as capitalistic. =]

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:46am

yeah, I used the loan exploit/bug too to buy out everything. Overall too complicated, but it is a simulator so that's really up to how you want it.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:58am

Villains in our industry... very realistic gameplay. :P Even it's complicated I think it's also very nice that you are able to make this a fun experience in such a short time period.

Hemuuuli says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33am

Ooops! Sorry fo the loan "bug", I was adjusting it all the time so my tired playtesterself didn't catch that in final build. u.u'

At least now everyone can beat it! Beginning of a new game company is harsh and my aim was simulate that as well so don't worry if it feels overwhelming at first.

apeandskate says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:39am

In the end you are a villain... You steal the money... ;)

Worse says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:34pm

Interesting, but hard to learn. I also liked the educational aspect, but it would have been better to include that stuff in the game rather than the ReadMe :)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:22am

Great idea, but quite hard to grasp. Good job though!

Nick Cash says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:45am

I just spammed the loan button and gained infinite sums of money. Am I doing it right?

In all seriousness, it is a pretty interesting idea with some fun details put in. It was definitely hard to tell what mixture of things resulted in a profitable game, but with infinite money from the loan glitch I was able to play around with many configurations.

infernet89 says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Woha, very complex idea and execution, but well played.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]