December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Unforgiven Wanderers

by AlexFili - 48 Hour Compo Entry

While this game doesn't entirely fit the theme, I feel it still fits under the broad scope of the competition due to the fact that the player has the option of being evil (which has its own benefits and drawbacks).

In this game, the main objective is to travel across America and deal with survivors. I give the player a number of choices for each possible encounter, along with a way of leveling up and trading items. There are helpful survivors as well as evil bandits that demand items in exchange for your life.

I've tried to make this as entertaining as possible, while also staying true to the original idea. This is inspired by The Walking Dead, Project Zomboid and The Road. Enjoy!

Note: This game was created using Construct 2 and is best played in an updated browser such as Google Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#317Audio2.56
#467Fun2.63
#526Mood2.47
#587Humor1.92
#595Innovation2.38
#620Overall2.50
#753Graphics1.50
#756Theme1.63
#776Coolness45%

Comments

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:33am

I love text adventure-like games. This one had some interesting choices, but I wish that it would display sentences showing the RESULTS of those choices. Often I would do things like exchange advice with survivors, and the game would inform me that I took medicine to ease the pain. Why did I need medicine? Did I get knifed for giving bad advice or something? This made it hard to care about the supplies or the results, when things appeared to happen arbitrarily.

The interface was nice and clean, I enjoyed the colors, music and sound.

Bugs(?):
-At one or two points, I was able to give away Ammo that I didn't have, and my ammo dropped to -2, then quickly righted itself to 0.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:41am

I can't seem to run it. It says "exported games won't work until you upload them." I open index.html and just get a black page with a link to Construct 2.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Same problem as BlackBulletIV - favourited until later in case you fix it. :)

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Nice game but I agree with the one above about it being nice to see the results of your actions

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Good story and choise system.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:19pm

I'm having the same problems as the others running it. Will try on another computer later on.

Schwiggy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:21pm

hissssss pretty much summed up my feelings for it as well. I'd really like to see the results of my actions in a dialogue rather than just some numbers changing; it's just a psychological thing ;)
For those having problems running it, this is an HTML5 game and due to browser security sometimes you can't have the same access to things when running something on your computer rather than the internet. It works fine in Firefox though I get the same error message as you and the link to Construct 2 is underneath the game.

drizzlybear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Same problems running the build as above "Exported games won't work until you upload them."

rolfeth says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:34pm

Reminds me a bit of statquest :) fyi, works in linux using firefox.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:36pm

You could probably make this we based rather easily.

Markavian says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:41pm

I've uploaded hosted it on my website on behalf of AlexFili if anyone wants to play: http://mkv25.net/ludum/hosted/TUW/

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:26am

Haven't played such text game for a long time. Good work.

AlexFili says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:50pm

Thanks to everyone who tried the game. For those who couldn't play it before, it's uploaded onto the Scirra Arcade now and should work (click the 'web' link above)

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:17am

A bit long but with nice music and a fun undertone. Well done.

Tobias Wehrum says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Interesting! I like that the things you have are nowhere explained, but become quite apparent over the travel. The choices are also interesting.

I would've liked to get more feedback on what happened when I took an action! I scavenge for two hours and I'm informed that I took a medicine to ease my pain. What pain? And what did I find? I have to figure these out by comparing my stats to how I remember them.

The game gets a little repetetive after a while.

I'm not sure if it fits theme to well, even though you have morally questionable options - it's not at the core of the game, and you are only fighting for survival. Still I can see what you were thinking there.

All in all: A well-made game, all the more in 48 hours. And bonus points for the title, I like it!

Jan 1, 2013 @ 5:03pm

I enjoyed playing this one :-)
Is there actually no ending or is that a bug? It just says "You travel onward..." with 0 miles to go, which is a shame.
Also, it would be much nicer to have some story throughout the journey. It's a bit mind-numbing as it is now.

CMaster says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:56pm

I had no idea why my health went up and down etc.
Descriptions of the consequences of your action would be very useful

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]