December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dig for Me

by Logan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

As a demon whose power is fueled by gold, you need to raise enough to drive your world domination efforts. 10000 should so it. And there should be enough buried beneath the old castle, but digging is HARD.

Fortunately, while the local towns have no desire to help you, they're chock-full of heroes who have heard about the opportunity to both vanquish you and score some treasure. So they can do the digging for you.

All you have to do is make sure they don't leave with any of it.

CONTROLS:

[Arrows] to Move
[Shift] to Jump/Fly
[Ctrl] to Shoot Lightning,
[Ctrl+Arrows] (against a wall) to Dig
[Ctrl+Up] to Build a Ladder

[Space] Opens/Closes the Monster Menu
[Space+Arrows] (against a wall) Opens the Trap Menu

[Shift or Ctrl or Enter] Confirm Menu Selection

[Any unused key] Assign or Activate a Trap

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#58Innovation3.76
#142Overall3.42
#147Graphics3.58
#200Fun3.19
#302Theme3.34
#350Mood2.79
#390Humor2.43
#585Audio1.33

Comments

misson20000 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51am

This game looks really fun. I would try to play it, but I'm running linux

Tifu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:05pm

The heroes never dig into that corridor at the bottom - I must know what is inside D:!!! I'll have to try this later, I had like 8000, didn't realise there was a goal and let myself get killed by some guy, woops.

jsmars says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Sweet little game! Really well made mechanics! Think it would be more fun if it was a bit slower movement of everything, that way you could keep track of the minions and plan attacks/traps better.. also digging is too slow. this would also be very fun multiplayer. Great job!

VDZ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55pm

Awesome game! Killing heroes is always fun, and the monster and trap systems are great.

Though the system is easily broken with a good strategy (such as just killing all heroes on the surface with cannons, taking their loot and digging out the treasure yourself), coming up with such a strategy is a lot of fun, and you can always keep challenging yourself by choosing not to use your previous cheesy strategy.

Unfortunately there's no audio, and victory is pretty underwhelming, but the game is fun enough to make up for it.

I agree with jsmars that this game would probably be a lot of fun in multiplayer.

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:58pm

Don't really know what to think. I like the premise, love the graphic and controls, but I can't dig, set up a trap and there isn't anything happening. Maybe it's an old build or something? Really looking forward to this game regardless.

Also - consider removing "ESC = quit", I accidentally the game a few times.

Logan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:18am

Heroes will show up eventually, but will be more drawn to the place if it's more notorious - that is, if it's got more deadly traps and monsters. Placing a trap is a little confusing: you have to be holding against a wall tile (or floor or ceiling) and press Space to open the menu. But if that's not working, then I don't know what's wrong...
And digging yourself is supposed to be slow. Digging is HARD, man.

Anyway, thanks to all so far! I was running out of time at the end, so that's why there's no sound, or proper ending, or sense of balance. I could also see it working well slower-paced, or multiplayer...

VDZ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:29am

By the way, your source code is not included, nor any link to it on this page or with the download.

>6. Source code MUST be included.
(from the competition rules)

Personally, I'm kind of interested in how this was made.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:19am

Can't play Windows games. Want to, as judging by the comments the game seems pretty fun.

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:27am

this game seems really interesting, though enemies seemed to clump up a lot into corners. i like the style/concept though. i couldn't figure out how to set traps, so i'm gonna go back and play this more later.

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:28am

I enjoyed it, and super-blobed small areas to kill as many of those other things as possible, good game...

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:37am

Indeed, you will need to include a link to the source code to qualify for the 48 hour competition; if you don't want to supply the code, you could switch to a jam entry, which doesn't have that restriction, but it may be too late at this point.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:02am

I really enjoy these Dungeon Keeper games. Sound and Music would be a nice addition.

Logan says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:26pm

Oh dang! I had no idea that source was required for this!

It's no problem, of course, but I won't be back at my own computer until tomorrow. But I'll upload the .mfa as soon as I'm able.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:10am

The controls are a bit clunky, but not so much so that it detracts from the game in a way that doesn't feel retro ;P.

It's a little too easy to permanently block yourself off from the rest of the excavation site by placing monsters in a spot where they can all wander down into the same pit. Perhaps if there were an obvious way to remove your monsters?

Still very cool and fun to watch, as well as play :).

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:22am

I really wish there was some audio in this, but I like the gameplay

Starspell says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:13am

That's an amazing game. I love the graphics and the gameplay and the idea in general. It's such a shame you did add sound to it. It would have been even better.

Fantastic game though.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:20pm

Works fine in Wine, which is nice. Interesting wee game, controls are a bit quirky, shift for jump doesn't come naturally to me.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:32pm

LOOKS fantastically brilliant. i love the graphics and feel for the game. I figured out that i could just leave it on for awhile since i didn't see anything else to acomplish once i found i could zap them when they came in. Eventually they built ladders over the entire map and dug all the way down to the bottom. piles of ladders! XD

Logan says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:36pm

Ha, nice!
They may not be the smartest bunch, but they sure can be industrious when they put their minds to it.

And thanks to all who have been enjoying it!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:28am

Really cute graphics and nice concept! Considering the scale of the map, it took a long time to dig.

radmars says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:31am

Wow, this has a lot of potential - I love the idea of setting traps to manually trigger, though it is difficult to pull off. With some polish (and audio!) this could be great. The control scheme is probably the biggest issue - shift to jump/select and space to open a menu is just not intuitive at all. Escape should exit menus, not immediately quit (add a "Really quit?" dialog choice maybe)

lotusgame says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:12am

I really like your game ! It reminds me terraria in some way. It's so fun to see heroes dig and create galleries. Congrats :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]