Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Bug Story

by Demurgos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's the story of a bug. :)

More info here :
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/01/07/bugstory-recap/

I decided to add some new levels and elements in a PostMortem version.
(Play it on Kongregate to support me :) )

Timelapse :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ut6s_a3yhoU

(I'll complete this field later.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Humor3.76
#48Fun3.65
#65Overall3.65
#96Innovation3.58
#119Theme3.77
#130Mood3.27
#283Graphics3.14
#831Coolness41%

Comments

nSun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:31pm

J'ai bien l'idée qu'un zéro barré ressemble à certaines portes dans les jeux vidéos, où on entrevois un escalier.

nSun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:32pm

Pas d'accents !?
Je reprend :
J'ai bien l'idee qu'un zero barre ressemble à certaines portes dans les jeux videos, où l'on entrevois un escalier.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:19am

This is a really nice ASCII platformer. It needs more levels.
Great idea to divide the screen in story and action.

01101101 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:56am

Good job with the graphics, it's simple and works really well :) Reminded me of Thomas was alone, with the bug storyline and all. The controls are VERY frustrating though...

pythong says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:33pm

the intro is waaayy to long :P but nice usage of ascii. who said you have to be able to raw to make a game?

Yacodo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:15pm

Haha, this one totally made my day.

We worked on the concept dev/bug with Silii bug we couldn't figure out something good with this.

har_g says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:42pm

Très surprenant. l'ensemble a son charme. GG

neekobus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Nice idea.
I like the idea that the computer guide the bug and give hints.
Maybe "dev" commands could lead to event in the game.

What I dislike :
- jumps are not confortables
- intro is a bit to long

3dwoody says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:10pm

Nice idea. Pretty fun to play along and see the story pan out. There were some frustrating points with the jumping but overall it's a solid use of the theme.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:52pm

Nice game! I like the chat going on while you play. The only issues I have with it are that the controls and physics are a bit awkward. Fake ASCII art where the player can move in increments lower than 1 character could aid jumping. Also, bumping into a wall seems to cancel a jump. Still, it was quite fun!

Mase says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:01pm

The tricky platforming had me muttering curses, but I dig the graphics.

hypp says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:21pm

Great! Loved the retro feeling!

berkano says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:40pm

Love it! I thought the difficulty was really well balanced (gets harder, but doesn't take a ridiculous amount of time to improve movement skills). Nice work!

jujule says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:51pm

This is so good ! Ascii art ( my own entry is somewhat an ascii game and almost all my LD entries have been ), platform, brilliant. So yes, the LD version is buggy but hey, it is still playable and very much enjoyable in this state.

J'adore grave ! Comme on dit...

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:53pm

Oh man, those controls where killing me. But the intro was funny and the game overall nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]