December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Metal Minions

by zkenshin - Jam Entry

You will need XNA from microsoft to run this game.
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

You are an AI working for an evil mastermind, who is planning to destroy the world. Take control of his robotic minions, and either hold off or kill the different heroes while your master's various drills reach the planets core.

Controls:
- Left Click or Space to shoot
- Right Click or Shift to switch to a different minion
- Left/Right or A/D to Move
- Up or W to use Powerups
- P to pause
- M to Mute Sounds

Worked right to the deadline this time, so apologies for any bugs or errors that are experienced.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#194Audio(Jam)2.58
#194Humor(Jam)2.39
#213Theme(Jam)3.03
#239Innovation(Jam)2.54
#273Graphics(Jam)2.42
#279Overall(Jam)2.47
#280Fun(Jam)2.22
#280Mood(Jam)2.21

Comments

ddionisio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:04am

Man that is one tough farmer...and a creepy army dude. I feel like they're the bad guys.

bushmango says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:41am

Appears malicious :( According to Chrome / Win 8

bushmango says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:45am

Disregard what I said! Wrong game :/ Sorry!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Unlikely hero, Creepy hero, invincible hero XD

illugion says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:41am

I like the simple gameplay and i dont know why but the second hero got stuck at the beggining of the stage

master4523 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:25am

Reminded me of Driver with the mental power, great game

goerp says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:53pm

This was good. A lot of content. I like the way you show that I failed: "Look this is the Earth, it has not exploded". Hyper repetitive music fits the game. I like that you made a animation that shows the transference to another AI.
Some more music, a bit slicker graphics some more upgrades and I can imagine being a nice game to play on a mobile device.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:31pm

Screenshots look good, but I can't run windows. Congrats, though!

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:59pm

Doesn't look like my computer can run this. I'll try a different computer when I can.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:57pm

I couldn't tell if my minions were shooting or not, and wasn't sure what advantage switching between them really gave me. Interesting game though, I'd love to see you add more.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:14pm

so, the hero is a farmer? tell me more

jerrre says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:45pm

not sure if i had any influence on the game

Maple says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:00am

Nice. The graphics were funny (lol at that bald army guy on lvl2), and I liked the audio, but it's a shame the music didn't loop seamlessly. Also, I think your shooting status should have been more apparent. Sometimes I wondered why my guy wasn't shooting. But otherwise, this was a good entry. Nice job.

zompi says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 11:40am

I have no idea what's going on... I'm just doing nothing and winning... This is bad :(

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Can you recompile with the XNA Reach profile? Right now I can't run it on a DX9 machine.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]