December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Cat

by Zener - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Evil Cat is as cute as dangerous and it's here to bring chaos and destruction to your home.

The objective is easy, destroy everything in the house. Push, scratch and jump on everything. The more objects you destroy the stronger the cat gets. There are 7 cat power levels and the strongest object is the washing machine.

Controls are easy, use the cursor keys to move left, move right and jump.

The game has been developed using Flash and Box2D.

Inspired by my cats.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Fun3.77
#52Humor3.65
#89Overall3.56
#103Theme3.80
#154Graphics3.56
#192Innovation3.24
#243Mood3.02
#598Audio1.23
#694Coolness48%

Comments

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:05am

Nice work! The cat's cute and lethal (even the HUD is cute!), and its comments are hilarious, it kept me with a smile on my face as I wrecked havoc in the house.

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:26pm

Huh, awesome!
It was fun to do cat's work :)
Graphics are very good, and physics work perfectly.

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24pm

Awesome!

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:26pm

Most fun one so far! Shame there is no sound

Pent says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:42pm

This is one of my favorite games this time around

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:05pm

Haha, that was awesome. Had some good fun knocking everything over. I also seemed to make my own fun with the game - I started playing keepy-uppies with the ball, and trying to bounce it up the levels. See? Your game provided the means for a game inside a game. :P

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08pm

I liked it. The idea is nice and your art work is good (especially the cat). You could've recorded some sounds of your cats, though.

RandomM00 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:10pm

Very entertaining but more things to destroy would be good, of course!
I found I could jump up walls by pushing against them and pressing up, I presume this isn't supposed to be possible (web version).

Floko says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:16pm

i'm not a fan of the whole "cats are villains" cliché, but the game was fun =]

grifdail says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:24pm

Whaou ! A really good game ! Pretty awesome !
It's a great idea ! I always knew that cat were evil... But they re so cute...
The ability (and need) to destroy everything was really pleasurable.

Zener says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:15pm

I love cats, they are cute but they always know how to bother you in some way, for example walking over the keyboard when you are programming for Ludum Dare :).

The idea with the ball, the washing machine, climbing walls and making everything movable/destroyable was to bring some kind of emergent playability. This way there is a reason to play again and try new things.

I would like to have added some randomness to the level but the only thing that is random at the moment is the size and color of the books.

Shugor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:19pm

This game was awesome! I really enjoyed smashing up the house, but my favorite bits were the things that the cat say after you destroy something. One little glitch that happened was I got stuck on an upturned washing machine. Cool game nonetheless!

Yacodo says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:40pm

Cat :) Need to say more ?

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:49pm

Nice concept :) Collision isn't always working right and controls are so lala, but okey.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Sweet!

arhpositive says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 10:09am

Played it through the end! Addictive game. :) It was great. :)

impulse9 says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 1:51pm

That's one strong cat! :) It controls a bit awkward but the gameplay is very soothing. Fun idea.

AdricZero says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Impressive quantity and quality of graphics for a non-programmer. Audio would have been good to add, but my entry doesn't have audio either. Adding some element of danger might have also made the game more fun. The cat didn't seem to ever be in jeopardy.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Very funny game. Here is my feedback:

- The control and the collision doesn't feel that smooth, but I think, you already know that :)
- There should be the ability to grab an item so you can get it if it stands near a wall. Had problems with items like the floor lamp. There was no way to destroy it.
- Couldn't destroy the washing machines even as the two machines and 3 other objects were left.
- The cat needs a jumping animation...
- ... and sounds :)

Jan 1, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Oh my god this is brilliant. Love the dialogue :D

goerp says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 8:50pm

This was fun and cute. And of course if you own a cat its very realistic.
This was fun to play! The graphics fit the game very well, and the physics were fun even though they were sometimes a bit weird.
A lot of different texts for the cat as well.
The silence while playing was weird though. I had the feeling as if my headphones were broken (must be the cat).
The mechanic with cat power was a good idea.

I will look at your source, because I was thinking of a game that would use a similar physics engine.

bentog says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:13am

The cat's movement is a bit buggy, but I love destroying everything and see the little pieces of destroyed material. Also the balloon speech comments are really funny.

Husky says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:17am

It's Fun!
Evil and cute kitty :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]