Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

'Goat, give me back my clothes !' - MvT - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For my first LD, I wanted to do something with lot of fun, because I know I haven't talent for design.
I'm pretty happy of my work, i know for the next time that i can sleep a little bit more.

I hope you will enjoy playing that game. :)

View MvT's journal. | View all entries by MvT

Ratings

Coolness100%
#225Graphics3.31
#304Humor2.71
#457Innovation2.66
#584Audio1.34
#619Theme2.54
#644Mood2.19
#680Overall2.36
#681Fun2.05

Comments

xviniette says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 8:12pm

Very cool, good job !

wallmasterr says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:40pm

I like the style of pixel art, and th fact it dosent cheet with pixels.

MvT says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:43pm

Thanks to both of you.

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:30am

Took me a while to figure out exactly what my goal was. I like the art style though.

vids says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:36am

Great work with the graphics, art style is awesome!

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:11am

I like the art style, but felt the game was difficult to control. At times it had a 'glitchy' feel to it. ):

ddionisio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:20am

I was kinda confused at first then I sort of figured out what was going on after a few loses. Nice mosaic art.

RylandAlmanza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23am

Absolutely in love with the graphical style!

64Mega says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:28am

Nice artwork on this, and a hilarious idea. Great job.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:21am

Lemmings + Tennis is a cool idea, but the human is a little too jerky for me to feel like I've got some control over him.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:24pm

WOW. I had no idea what the hell I was doin', but I had fun doin' it. The graphics really POP off of the screen. I dig it. Kinda hard to control, but that's part of the charm. Just needs a funky song to fill the void.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:01pm

Fantastic art, really cool style. Nice!

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:05pm

I have no idea what I was doing, but there was a naked man and I did indeed keep tossing him (into the air), so that's good I think.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07pm

At first I thought this was a deepknight entry, but then I realized that aesthetic isn't unique. Also, goats?

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:19pm

Deepnight, maybe? I know some of his games, and for pixels's style, I was maybe inspired by him unconsciously. :)

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:20pm

Thanks to all of you, your comments make me happy.

AyCe says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Nice idea in the introduction. But when I started to play, I had to find out the goal is to get him to visit all stationary goats. Pixel graphics ftw, but those goats look like bunnies ^^ Oh, and I couldn't get past the second stage, because every time I tried to make him not reach that brown...stuff he somehow glitched through that wall left of it. The whole movement was quite... "unsmooth" and did not feel very good.

Gornova says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:25pm

I'm not sure what's happening here, for example, how to beat level 2?

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:58pm

On the lvl 2 and 3, the order is important to win. :)

Digiraze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Love the art, and the level design, you have to use the ... =) Without giving anything away.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59pm

It was a bit difficult to get the human to move the way you wanted. I didn't get very far because of this. I do love how the game looks.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:19pm

Not really sure what to do, there doesn't seem to be much gameplay. Looks great, though!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:31am

didn't understand it but I liked the art and the shame on you part XD

CappaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:51am

Nice Art style.

boena says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:35am

Love the graphics but had a hard time to understand what to do.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:39am

Hard but original

Spierek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:36pm

The gameplay is confusing, but the mosaic pixel-art effect was sweet.

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Love art style!

Atomic says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25pm

This could have been fun if collision detection and throwing worked in a predictable manner... right now it's just pixel porn (great pixel porn BTW)!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Nice mosaic pixels, but the game itself it hard to control and the kicking feels very glitchy.

illugion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:17pm

That was weird and i don't know if i was playing it right but it was fun XD

Xavier says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:08pm

Love the pixel art but really difficult to play.

leafo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:20am

Cool little idea here. The graphics are nice looking. The physics are pretty wonky making it a little unpredictable to play, but good job.

jerombd says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:58am

It's really hard to control the directions of the human ball, but it's kinda challenging enough to be fun.
I love the pixel style too. Nice touch about the green leaf on the human^^

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:34pm

Fun art style :D Controls and gameplay could have been more solid but not bad for your first LD! Good job!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Good game, but the bouncing felt a little glitchy

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Love the large pixels.
I must try to do graphics like that someday :)

gnx says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Very weird game. Original funny visual style, strange collisions.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:43am

That was pretty hard but the graphics were nice :) good job

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:59am

Cool, I like the art. The physics could use some work. Nice work.

Faust says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:15am

Nice pixel art, good work.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:37pm

not bad for a first try, the goal is not very obvious, should be better with more tip help in the first stage.

Twigasaurus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:33pm

the game was fun :) a little confusing and nice art :D

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Nice pixel art. Instructions could have been better. Also some glitchy collision.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:19pm

Nice take on the pixel-scale dilemma, the human-goat interaction is rather.. unrefined. I do like the human has a little green pixel-leaf to protect his jiggly bits.

Dew says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:15am

Nice arts but confusing

blob says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:07am

Really cool art style. Controlling the guy was tough ( collisions were a bit funky ).

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:25am

I really liked the 'woven' feel to the pixels, and the font!

raincole says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:17pm

Physics works randomly...

jujule says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:28pm

After a few tries I still don't really get how the controls work, making the game frustrating.But as other mentioned, awesome art !

gritfish says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:07am

Bit glitchy and weird, but very fun concept.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:18am

There should be some easy way to restart the game without having to reload the page (although it's probably the easiest approach). And, yes, the trajectory of the human is a bit unpredictable (not sure whether that's actually intended).

Mesene says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:58pm

was anoying to me, can't get throug lvl 2.
I hope you enjoyed your first LD, see you LD26!

Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:51pm

heheheh very fun, i love the graphics :D great job!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 1:45am

A nice art style, but incredibly hard and glitchy to control.

pereubu says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:15pm

fun but a bit confusing, i like the concept but it's terribly hard to control what happen on the game, still great job, especially on the humor D:

lotusgame says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:01am

I didn't really understood what to do and why i passed some stage but i looks promising ! As i enjoy new gameplays, i will try again later ;)

Lythom says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:43am

The human seems to teleports on top of you and it's really hard to control, plus it goes into the ground sometimes or just doesn't jump. This make the actions very uncertain and it killed the fun for me. A "restart" the level button (and not the whole game each time) would have been appreciated !
I liked the theme point of view and the art.
Thanks for the game !

Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:31am

I tried for a whlie, but I wasn't ever sure what I was supposed to be doing. I never made it past level 1, unfortunately. The fact that I had to refresh the browser on every replay really made it difficult to keep trying, as well. If I'd suggest anything, it's to give the user a way to restart without refreshing the page.

michax says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 8:51am

Needed a little time to figure out what to do but in the end it was a part of the game/fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]