Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Revenge of the goats

by kewry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 3 endings a good, a bad and sort of neutral.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#315Humor2.68
#338Audio2.50
#495Theme2.91
#624Mood2.26
#681Innovation2.14
#701Graphics1.93
#712Overall2.23
#727Fun1.84

Comments

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04am

The music was great! It took me awhile to realize I could scroll around the world map. I'm going to have nightmares about goats and goat-emperors tonight.

Datw says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05am

I loved the presentation and the concept. The only problem here is that there was nothing stopping me from spamming the button to generate more goats and the slaughtering everything right away.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12am

Quite honestly, I was just confused and clicking buttons. Eventually anytime I attacked or slaughtered I would win. I couldn't figure out the logic of it. Apparently I was a cruel and leader, since it looks like I got the bad ending. Triforce is a nice touch.

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:04am

Agree with Datw, I can make goats like a freak and be the emperor in no time.

kewry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:42am

@MrEvilGuy <3 sorry about those bad dreams!
@Datw @Manuel777 I had to cut down on the feature that would make the game lengthier which also caused the game to be extremely unloseable

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:37am

Maybe was it too easy, i hope you will improve it.
Good job.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:52am

Original

tim_u says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:09am

Liked it although I never lost a battle. I'm not even sure if you can. After the second town I had 125% on slaughter.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Good concept, and I liked the idea of THE EVIL GOAT KING KILLING ALL THE HUMANS, but it was a bit too easy - could have done with some resource management mechanics or something

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:48pm

It's neat and simple :)

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:56pm

I am the emperor!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28am

Too simple that made it not much fun

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:58am

The goat texture and story are pretty funny, but the gameplay is somewhat confusing (it is unclear if there are any limits to goat creation).

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:06am

I am the goat emperor! Could make it more of a challenge, maybe add some turn based choices during the battles?

LogGiant says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:06am

The instructions were not helpful, but I figured it out pretty quickly. There wasn't much stopping me from just spamming goats and conquering. I did enjoy the game's humor.

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:51am

Ugh well that was a bit easy. The sense of humor was to die for though!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:32am

The game was pretty funny, for me at least. The audio was great though overall it took me awhile to figure out the controls.

kewry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:40am

Thanks for checking out the game guys, and I'll take your feedback in account when I get to work on this again!

boena says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39am

Haha loved the idea. A little bit too easy though but good fun :)

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:02am

Fun idea to give goat the role to emperor the world!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:06am

haha goat empire, had some issues with the more goats button

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:07pm

Evil Goats? Going for a 10 on the theme scale? :)

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:50pm

I got so many goats that the sign changed!

JaJ says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:40pm

Nice use of theme but I wasn't really challenged.

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:49am

Like civilization, but with goats. I could make goats a bit too easy.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Interesting idea, the game is pretty easy though because you can just make lots of goats and slaughter everything in instant.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]