December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Red Roses

by unicornpooping - Jam Entry

This is Jam Entry, since it is using elements from an older unfinished LD entry.

You get most of the story from the game itself. It's really up to interpretation what the game is saying, but I took the theme of being "the villain" and used it in an ironic way.

The controls are simple and straight forward. You move with the arrows and stomp with the space bar.

I really want to know what you think of this little experiment.

It's Windows EXE only, so sorry for everyone else. The java version just won't work properly. I'll still try and work on it for the future.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#90Audio(Jam)3.29
#112Mood(Jam)3.07
#113Graphics(Jam)3.50
#239Innovation(Jam)2.54
#255Theme(Jam)2.69
#259Overall(Jam)2.62
#263Fun(Jam)2.31
#1048Coolness22%

Comments

nate427 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Seems like a good idea, and I think I got the message of the game, but I wish there had been a bit more substance to it. I really like the mood of it though, I think the idea was very well executed.

Nanofus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:57pm

The graphics are great and the music fits the mood. It could have used a bit more content, though. A very nice game anyway :D

Gungnir says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:03am

My AVG thought your exe contained a Trojan horse, you might want to check that out.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Weird. It passed every anti virus program i put it through.

wademcgillis says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:28pm

That was... rather short. I started to wonder if the game was just picking flowers, because I kept picking them and nothing happened.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:48pm

Looked really nice and had great music. Game felt weird at times. Was too short, yet you spent too long picking flowers. Which is like, the whole game. Definitely was expecting a twist at the end though. Also it waited a loooong time on that final title screen.

JFlegle says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Not much here for a jam entry, I like the intro, never got past the stomp roses part.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Nice visuals and atmosphere. I think, you should always make clear, that the player progresses, if he does something. I picked so many flowers without knowing, if it will end or if I should do something other. Then after collecting enough, there was this screen and if I press the left arrow key, I see my character walking but I have no chance to determine, if I walk on a spot or forward and, if it will end. The ending of throwing roses was funny - made me smile :D

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:16pm

I like the moonwalk at the end. :)

goerp says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:25pm

I didn't try it, because AVG thought it had a trojan virus.

bitbof says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:50am

Hehe I kinda liked it. *headbang*

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]