About | Rules and Guide
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 9 hours, 28 minutes, 18 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 9 hours, 40 minutes, 18 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 10 hours, 28 minutes, 18 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Lumberjack - BrothersT - Jam Entry

    ***** IMPORTANT INFO IF YOU'RE HAVING TROUBLE *****

    - You have to jump in the air using the left mouse button.
    - Click once to jump off the ground and then again to cut (you can only cut where there is a cut mark, and you must be situated over the mark to cut.)
    - Cutting a cut mark makes you jump higher still, so to get to the top you have to bounce between the cut marks all in a row, without touching the ground.
    - Jump and cut are assigned to the same button because having a key for jump and a key for cut (Which is essentially a jump move too) becomes VERY confusing. Just think of LMB as being a jump button, and the cut marks are points where you can jump again in the air.

    Hope that helps!

    ***** "IT DOESN'T FIT THE THEME" *****
    For anyone who thinks this game doesn't follow the theme, you have to reach the end to find out why it does (It's a very silly reveal, but it certainly fits! - we were going to have lots more on this stroy throughout the game, like endangered animals falling out of the trees, but we only got time to put something at the very end.)

    Lumberjack is a game where you cut down trees by throwing your big axes and jumping from tree to tree, flailing madly. Be careful not to fall or you'll have to start again!

    This is a hastily put together game under the worst of conditions. And somehow we managed to actually complete it! Well, no sound yet, and the prize at the end took about 3 minutes to conjure together. But you're missing the point, THERE'S A PRIZE AT THE END!

    Also featuring impressive 3D Graphics, rendered in a 2D style. It the future of gaming, of the past! Today!

    Enjoy!

    View BrothersT's journal. | View all entries by BrothersT

    Ratings

    Coolness88%
    #7Fun(Jam)3.96
    #18Innovation(Jam)3.89
    #26Overall(Jam)3.80
    #32Graphics(Jam)4.18
    #56Humor(Jam)3.28
    #107Mood(Jam)3.09
    #270Audio(Jam)1.25
    #281Theme(Jam)2.46

    Comments

    valeroth says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:36am

    Link links to last years entry so could not play unfortunately.

    TehSkull says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:17am

    "The key you provided for file download was invalid. This is usually caused because the file is no longer stored on MediaFire. This occurs when the file is removed by the originating user or MediaFire."

    Nsmurf says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:22am

    The key you provided for file download was invalid. This is usually caused because the file is no longer stored on MediaFire. This occurs when the file is removed by the originating user or MediaFire.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:28am

    Please try again! The file is now available again.

    TehSkull says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:55am

    That was a pretty fun game but there was a huge issue with the vsync so the graphics were all ripping.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:29am

    Thanks for the feedback TehSkull. I'm not sure how to force v-sync on in the application, but for now you can probably tell your graphics drivers to turn it on by default. I did try turning on v-sync, but it didn't work well with my fixed frame-rate, so I've just uploaded a version where the framerate is unclamped.

    So as long as you have v-sync on by default, everything should be now be rip free :)

    Prelucid says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:17pm

    Pretty cool game! Loved the mechanics.

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    Super awesome, probably the best game I've tried so far. Incredibly fun gameplay and polished graphics for a game in only three days. Congrats!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:32am

    This game gave me some serious joy. The gameplay was satisfying and the ending was hilarious (especially since the lumberjack looks a little derpy). Great work!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:42am

    You have a unique concept and well executed puzzle designs. The art style is very well polished, with fun animations and subtle yet distinctive gameplay cues, such as the indicators for where to cut, whether a cut has been made on a tree, and little things like the tree shaking when you bounce off them.

    Given that so much of the conceptual groundwork is already present, I'd suspect that with only a few additions, such as more varied and interesting backgrounds, music and sfx, and some sort of slightly more intuitive introduction (I somehow missed it the first time that you could LMB on the cut marks to bounce off), that you could easily expand this game into a commercial product for mobile platforms.

    Great work.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:45am

    @StoneMonkeyStudios - Cheers dude(tte(s))!! This is definitely the game we have been most inspired to finish after a Jam. We'll definitely be coming out with a version with refined controls, more definied limitations and capabilities, better graphics and lots more (and harder) levels. The game's a bit short as is! We'll see about commercialising, but it's reassuring to hear you say that! :)

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:13am

    This is awesome! Great mechanics, wish the controls were a little easier (Does it support gamepad controllers? It would be great if it did.) No sound but the other elements here are outstanding. But why is a Lumberjack a villain?

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:18am

    @csanyk - Did you reach the end? :P And thanks! No gamepad currently not supported. We're still trying to work out the best controls to translate from foreign keyboards to ours with as many key presses at once supported on the average keyboard design.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:49am

    Hey there, I played the game and I got the axe throwing to work, but for some reason the lumberjack wouldn't "Jump+Cut" with the LMB. The best he ever could do was to just plain jump.

    Was there something I'm missing?

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:36pm

    You have to press the LMB when the character is near one of the cut marks (jump up to get to it. Sorry that wasn't more clear, we expected people to know what to do instantly I guess. :P our bad.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:39pm

    Wow. This was SO much fun. SO ADDICTIVE. Great visuals and awesome innovation. I didn't feel much of a theme connection throughout but DAMN this game is fun. I want a full version with music, SFX, and a level editor.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    Dick.

    hadesfury says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:55pm

    Love the Donkey Kong graphics and puzzles are well made, it all feel very instinctive. Congrats!

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:27pm

    Brilliant game, the obvious things such as lack of audio and the background/trees looking a bit placeholder, the main improvement I would like to see in this game is statistics for the levels such as time to completion, number of moves, with gold, silver, bronze medals. Maybe even some bonus collectibles, one in each level which makes it even more difficult to factor collecting that into the completion.

    Other then that, this game is spot on, and I don't think the controls require any refinement.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:15pm

    Thanks guys! We appreciate the feedback.

    @gamexcore - if you hammer the LMB when cutting you might change your tune! Also it gets hard to use the controls with the more advanced levels we've designed. Thanks for the great feedback!

    Cabral says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:35pm

    Wow, that was awesome I just wish there was some sound, besides that it's pretty, solid and really well designed! And I wish there was more of it, of course =P

    Great work!

    Strkl says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:11pm

    That was amazing oO
    The gameplay is great, it feel really tight and clean, a you made really great levels (and so manys ! )

    for the complaints : the sound, its would have been so much better with sound ! (but I know who it goes better than anybody) and maybe I would have prefered less levels, but some variation graphics-wise

    Anyway, max rating everywhere apart from audio :)

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:22am

    @csanyk - Initially the lumberjack was intended to be logging while avoiding the environmentalists, but that fell by the wayside when we started to run out of time. The ending will give you a brief taste of the theme, although we appreciate it wasn't exactly present throughout.

    @Strkl - Thanks! Actually, because we had a primitive level editor, the levels took under an hour to design. Yeah, it's a shame we didn't have time for sound :(

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:23am

    dude, you missed the bus by not calling this "Lumberjerk".

    blob says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:42am

    Amazing stuff guys. Fun and innovative gameplay, some cool puzzle ideas and very nice render, animation and character design...

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:59am

    The computer I'm on right now doesn't appear to want to run this... I'll have to find a time when my brother isn't on the other one. Just know I haven't forgotten I have to play this one!

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:06am

    Awesome graphics, awesome game, funny ending, just perfect.

    I was a little bit confused at the very start, if you release this you should add a little tutorial just showing how to swing jump. But yeah, amazing. Best LD entry I've played so far.

    I particularly enjoyed how the ending revealed just exactly why I was the villain.

    Aslai says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:02am

    The gameplay was solid and fluid, and I had a blast playing the game. All this really needs is maybe an extra mechanic or two and some more eyecandy, along with an easy to use level editor for the masses. You could make hundreds or thousands off this game if you market it right ;)

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:03am

    Really fun game. Would be a cool game to see further developed. :)

    char68 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:40pm

    The graphics were great, but the jump controls were a little difficult to work right. I kept getting stuck pressing the mouse button and would stay on the same tree, maybe there should be a really small timer?

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:49pm

    Ok. You win! I would have payed for this you know? fantastik game!
    And the final... haha, too funny!

    FrederickK says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:53pm

    My new favorite. Would be a great mobile/browser game, please, do it!

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:54pm

    I got really far, but eventually needed to take a break. This is a freaking awesome game. You should really finish it and get it on Steam. Probably with some controls changes you could get it working really well on the iPad as well. I would buy this game. 5/5/5/5/5/5/5/5

    Also, thanks for the awesome review on my 48hr entry. I left you a comment on there before coming here, check it out. Not sure if there's a way to send private messages through this site but if you're on Twitter, send me a message @sclark39. I don't want to miss out on any other games that you two create. :)

    youdonotexist says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:42am

    @BrothersT: Is it possible to get a Web/Mac build for this? I really want to try it out.

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:16am

    Very nice, great puzzle game.

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:15pm

    In my list of queued games, I finally reached yours! This is a little gem! And you say it's hastily put together? Bah! It's awesome! Thank you for this

    Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:08am

    OMG and I just realized you made the circular fighter with the fantastic graphics last year. Kudos!!

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:03am

    4 for Graphic seriously, 1 for all the rest.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:37pm

    This game is just perfect. Fantastic minimalistic art, nice character model, interesting and addictive gameplay. You could add sounds and music and upload it to a store.

    Very small detail: The spawn point of the character should be near the first tree to take. Pressing "R" to restart the level and then run everytime to the first tree gets annoying ^^

    Good job!

    krutech says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:36pm

    Cool model and gameplay. Tight controls. Despite not having finished graphics, no audio nor followed the theme i like this entry very much. You have displayed a great understanding of game design. Congrats!

    Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:45pm

    Impressive character and animations!

    The gameplay is fun, but confusing. How do I cut things? WHy is cut and jump the same button? And how do I even make a high cut?

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:30pm

    Thanks everyone! Really appreciate it!

    @matthias_zarzecki - Damn, we did have an explanation of this at the top but it's disappeared... Yes this is the main thing we found needed some more explaining. Many people get it straight away, many have no idea and try the right things but do it slightly wrong, leaving them thinking they've already tried the correct solution. Some just stare at it dumbfounded without even trying different things to see what would happen, waiting to be spoonfed the answer - we assumed people would just be able to experiment for a little bit and find the right technique pretty fast, but we are veteran gamers so of course we underestimated how hard it would be for certain people. In any case, our bad!

    - You have to jump in the air using the left mouse button.
    - Click once to jump off the ground and then again to cut (you can only cut where there is a cut mark, and you must be situated over the mark to cut.)
    - Cutting a cut mark makes you jump higher still, so to get to the top you have to bounce between the cut marks all in a row, without touching the ground.
    - Jump and cut are assigned to the same button because having a key for jump and a key for cut (Which is essentially a jump move too) becomes VERY confusing. Just think of LMB as being a jump button, and the cut marks are points where you can jump again in the air.

    Hope that helps!

    For anyone who thinks this game doesn't follow the theme, you have to reach the end to find out why it does (It's a very silly reveal, but it certainly fits! - we were going to have lots more on this stroy throughout the game, like endangered animals falling out of the trees, but we only got time to put something at the very end.)

    @ArkadyDracul - still not sure why you disliked the game so much - did you not understand the controls? - check my comment on your game.

    Christina Antoinette Neofotistou - Haha, thanks for all the great comments everywhere - I remember and loved your games from the last 2 Ludums too! And I've had another look at your page and can understand why the controls might not have been good on my computer, so I'll be having another look later!

    Rob

    Prealpha says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:35pm

    Why some people insist on making the rest of us look bad? Shame on you all and your astonishing weekend-game-making prowess!
    I loved the design of the puzzles/levels, the control may need some rethinking (perhaps left mouse to jump/cut left, right mouse to jump cut right and shift+click to throw in that direction? - and sliding with one or two fingers on each side for a touch screen...), but this entry is among the most professional and full-development/money making worthy I've seen this time (not to undervalue the worth of the more experimental ones, but those usually work better as a one-time thing)

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:58pm

    I'll explain all, sorry but I was in a hurry:
    Innovation (2): Yes I understand the controls, but the gameplay is so repetitive at some point.
    Fun(1): I do not have a lot of fun while playing.
    Theme(1): I don't see the theme of the contest here, just a lumberjack with a maniac face without a story (even a little).
    Graphics(4): Fuck! The graphics rock so hard! Seriously! Good Job!
    Audio(1): Does not exist.
    Humor(1): I don't see the humor in this, yes the cartoon-style is so funny but "humor" may be more,imho.
    Mood(1): For all the reasons above my mood level is 1.
    Overall (2).

    These are the reasons, I understand your frustration when you see all those who say "hey great your game!" and then there's someone who does not like it.. it's a normal thing, all opinions are personal.

    Cheers

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:06pm

    @ArkadyDracul - The frustration was due to you leaving such an unhelpful comment, telling us that you'd given low ratings without giving feedback. We don't mind that you didn't like the game. Thanks for taking the time to reply!

    p.s. There is a story, although you have to play to the end of the game to discover it.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:14am

    Excellent! - great job!

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:06pm

    Nicely executed game here, the mechanics feel nice and solid and satisfying and the graphics are nicely done.

    It does match the theme, but that feels a bit jammed in at the end, could do with a little foreshadowing earlier on.

    goerp says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:20pm

    The lumberjack looks fantastic! Expressions in 3D aren't always as good as in 2D but here it is.
    The tartan in the beginning was great as well. As a game I'm impressed what you did in little time, but I'm not coordinated enough to get beyond the second level. It was an interesting game mechanic.
    Just a bit of sound would have been nice.

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:20am

    I feel as if I have become some sort of Lumber Ninja! Personally, I like it, and I'm not just saying that.

    Bad:
    -It's very long without really a break, or any sense of thing to answer "Will it end soon?"
    -The story is barely there.
    -A slightly incomplete GUI.

    Good:
    +These graphics have been crafted by archangels summoned from the high peak of Mount Olympus.
    +The gameplay is very innovative and quite fun from my perspective.
    +Loads and loads of levels!

    In the end, this thing deserves a post-compo more than any other game I've played.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:38am

    The gameplay and controls are nigh-flawless. I had a ton of fun going through all the levels though I wished there was a scoring system (possibly even some rewards for not using axes on levels that can done without them?).

    The story at the end feels a bit tacked on to fit the theme, maybe if there had been some more exposition between levels as well as potentially an intro it might not have felt so jarring and misplaced. It was funny and relevant though, especially having that final word.

    Overall, I really hope you all expand upon this! More levels and gameplay would be awesome :D

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:08pm

    I was quite skeptical before playing this, but it's indeed very fun game. Exceptional game controls. I'm waiting for the post combo version :).

    bitbof says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:10pm

    The mechanic was pretty fun once I got the hang of it.

    bobiniki says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 8:49pm

    Link is broken :(

    BrothersT says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 11:22am

    Hmm. Seems to work for me!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]