December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You Are The Ghost Beta

by boxerbomb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a version of Pac-Man but instead of being Pac-Man you are the ghost.

CLICK SPACE TO GET PAST INTRO!

Pac-Man Has Just Been Released From Jail. You ,Blinky, Has Decided To Kill Pac-Man Because He Ate You Brothers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#292Theme3.38
#368Humor2.52
#711Coolness47%
#719Mood1.78
#725Graphics1.77
#729Innovation1.86
#746Fun1.74
#748Overall2.04

Comments

herpdermit says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Why it's only a few seconds long you could have tried harder!

har_g says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 7:51pm

pacman go through the yellow pills without eat them... bug ?

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Nice idea

lando walters says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:49pm

euh, the game never goes past the cut scene thingy for me :P

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Click Space to get past Intro

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:27am

When spawning on the right side of screen, Pacman went up and down the grey border before escaping the game altogether. He's probably on his way to rehab. :D

apophenia says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:06am

Mmm, the actual gameplay session is quite short & difficult. Nice take on the theme, though.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:40pm

Too bad the pacman doesn't have a better AI, and you don't have any friends. The dynamic of alternatively chasing and running away is interesting. Would be even more so as a 4P game.

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:42pm

A nice try. It seems a little un polished but the idea still shines through. Love the look on the ghost though!

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:46pm

I seem to only get a grey box loading up. I don't even get to something like an opening I'm afraid. I'll try again later on a different computer.

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:00pm

Fun idea! A bit too fast tho and since pacman doesn't eat dots not much challange

Rialgar says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:38pm

Nice concept, has potential to good fun.
It get's quite annoying, when pacman just runs over a large pill over and over and stays in the "I'll eat you" mode for a long time.

Husky says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:03am

I never know Pac-Man is so powerful lol.
Good job!

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:35am

There is another anti-pac-man in the Ludum Dare 25, you can check it!

caranha says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Interesting idea ;-)

A few bugs you might want to try and iron out:
- Pacman doesn't eat coins or pellets (you know this one)
- If pacman goes into the teleporting tunnel, he disappears from the game (but he still seems to eat power pellets from time to time)
- You should work a bit on the "repeat" of the key, holding a movement key down means the ghost will stay stopped for a second, then move really really fast!

hope you take some time to try to fix those :-)

Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]