December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

For the love of the king

by FlowerPower - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the king, and you hate the paupers who want to take your money, so you kill them.
For this, you have the wall, for each level you have one bow.
But if they still arrive at the river (you have to take them by silly laws...), they enter in city and become pauper but they give you some money :).
Each pauper on the city eats, if you have less than 1 "Stock", you lose.
Producer produce Stock (5 per 1), you can transform a Pauper to Producer (clik on the producer rectangle :o)).
Nobles give money for each pauper you kill.
Sometime (often) a hero come, if he arrive at the city, he will kill half noble and half producer


ps : bug on chrome/IE at the end, works on opera/firefox

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#436Theme3.05
#595Humor1.90
#602Audio1.21
#606Innovation2.34
#644Graphics2.16
#676Mood2.09
#688Fun2.03
#699Overall2.26

Comments

tim_u says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:36am

Surprisingly fun as a test of mouse clicking endurance. If you can get past the early waves, don't convert everyone to nobles as you cannot restock producers.... With the right balance gigantic swaths of cash are available. Games running in another window and my 625 nobles with their 1000 arrows are up to just broke 100,000,000 They will soon starve though with only 3998 stock left.... 229941 dead at the message...
I had no sound, but I'm not sure if there is anything to hear... left it as N/A.

CMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:40am

Took me a while to get just what made you win lose, and often bugs out into a loop when you do lose.
Definitely made me feel very villainous though!

FlowerPower says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:30pm

yeah they have bug with Chrome when you die (alert in infiny loop)
And they have no song (i lose 6 hour in hexagon game.....)

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Took a few moments to understand what's going on. Quickly became a blood bath =)

Manest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:31pm

Seem too easy after a moment. But fun :)

Datw says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:58pm

Couldn't play it on chrome. First it loaded but the game screen was white with some arrows flying. Then I refreshed and Chrome couldn't find the page. Too bad, it seemed like a good one :(

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Took me a while to get what was going one. I think my mouse would get upset if I played this too much.

FlowerPower says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:24pm

@Manest : Yeah i have some problem to equilibrate the game
@datw : the game works on firefox, chrome (till the end, after bug), IE(same problem with chrome)

Logun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Even if the core gameplay looks cool, I didn't understand clearly what I have to do, and how to win or perform a better score.

FlowerPower says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:30pm

@logun : read the text above the game?

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:00pm

I'm not sure what my target is in this game...

Aswissrole says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Quite nice quick game. A little confusing though, you don't know how much it costs to upgrade stuff :(. Animation is also broken. I love the massive numbers of people that are killed by my wall of arrows.

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:13pm

A surprisingly good game for being so simple, though the difficulty level does ramp up way too quickly in the beginning only to then flatten out rather fast and become something more of an interactive murder screensaver.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53pm

Didn't work right in chrome on macosx

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54pm

Not bad, kind of a cool concept

V says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55pm

I can't do anything and I just lose and it gets buggy D:

foksa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Luckily my mouse has multi-click button :)

Agamgad says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Yeah FlowerPower, nice one ! if only hexagon had not been there to distract you ! :p

maiev says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:44pm

Took me a few tries to reach the point where you generate endless money and stock. Pretty interesting to figure out the right balance at the start.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09pm

I was a bit confused to begin with, it just seemed like I had to click a lot on the boxes on the right. Seems looking at tim_u's post that there is some strategy but I rather missed that :-)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:35am

other than infinite loop its great

michax says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:43am

Get me angry with poping alerts that for sure :) So in the end i becomed an evil villain. Five start for the theme!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:56pm

Hmm, a little bit confused by this but seemed fun. :)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:54pm

Would be nice to control each number up and down.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:31am

The game is a bit hard to get, you should add a little tutorial, because I'm still not sure howw it workds exactly. the problem might be it's going a bit too fast...I just blinked and there was a HUGE amount of paupers running for my city!
It would be funny to let the player shoot at the paupers, a multitasking game with skills and strategy.^^

blink says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:47pm

that was fun :D
score = 73041
nobles = 800+
shooty people = 900+

pretty fun pre-bug :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]