December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Legend of Sneak Ninja Kill

by vidarn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take control of an evil ninja on a senseless quest for blood.

Control the ninja with the d-pad and use the A button for a devastating Ninja Kill Strike.
Take care not to let the civilians spot you.

This is a game for the original Game Boy and can be played on the real thing if you own a usb cartridge.
I realize most of you don't own one, but the game works just as good with an emulator (but you lose some of the oldschool charm).
I've included a link to one of the most accurate emulators I know, "Gambatte". There's download links for all major platforms on the sourceforge site.


I apologize in advance for the crappy ending!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#114Graphics3.72
#129Innovation3.44
#186Overall3.32
#200Mood3.11
#206Fun3.17
#371Theme3.20
#381Audio2.38
#430Humor2.31
#694Coolness48%

Comments

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:33am

Holy crap how you did that in 48hs? O.o

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:38pm

It's working, and original !

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Whoa, how do you program for the gameboy, in assembly? Looks nice (although very very small on my monitor).
Ah, I looked at your post, you did it in C.
Still good.

aneeslol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Pretty neat game, although the detection felt kind of wonky sometimes.

GFM says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:52pm

You made a gameboy game?
That's awesome!!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:30pm

Awesome!
There are some minor bugs but I'm pretty sure those are emulator/gameboy related :)
A rather short but nice and definitely very original game! :)

Devenger says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:50pm

Cool choice of platform, but the detection system was ambiguous, and the enemies seemed unpredictable - two things that are nails in any stealth game's coffin. :/

PoV says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Woo! GameBoy! I haven't worked on GameBoy for well over a decade. Nice to see somebody still cares. :D

Sam Driver says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:28pm

Very neat to get a working Gameboy ROM made, well done.
The game itself is nice too! The line of sight detection seemed to work fine for me, after a little time learning how it functions. I made it to the end, only had to kill a couple of people.

CappaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08am

Wish there was a way to play this on my actual game boy.

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:11pm

Judging from the screenshot, it's playable on the gameboy, guess you need some kind of devkit. Nice job!

vidarn says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:32am

Thanks a lot for the comments!
I use this usb cartridge to run games on my game boy:
http://store.kitsch-bent.com/product/usb-64m-smart-card
Great stuff if you're into game boy homebrew :)
Oh, and I'm sorry to hear the detection system caused some of you problems. I had some performance issues with it and had to cut some corners I'm afraid. That's the penalty for using C over ASM I guess...

fishbrain says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:06am

cooooooool! tricky game though.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:33am

Soooooo cooool! ^^ I got to play this on my Gamboy Classic cause I do indeed have a USB cartridge :D
Funny game, but shitty ending indeed :P hahaha

Maple says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:42pm

I could say It's cool that you made a Gameboy game like everyone else, but you already know that, so let's get down to business... The first impression on this game wasn't a good one when I started. I would get seen by people who had only just popped onto the screen in the distance. I only really started to become interested when I realised that the game got a bit better, with places to hide and then in the rooms of the building etc. I started to get a bit interested there, but the rest wasn't enough to hold me playing until the end, unfortunately. Also, the sounds could use some work, though I did like the graphics. It was a cool thing to make, but it's a shame it wasn't a little more captivating.

Mase says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:41pm

I was a little disappointed that there were no animations for the "Ninja Kill Strike." Nice environments though.
Maybe reduce the enemies' sight but make them walk around. Add some poison rice and throwing stars for the authentic ninja experience.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:42pm

Good job. I wasn't expecting a Game Boy game.

DST says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:33am

N.I.C.E.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Nice to see a gameboy game. Sadly the game is a bit rough. It's hard to get not detected, because I have no chance to see in which direction they look before I enter there sight. Very nice retro visuals anyway!

Neonlare says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:28am

The fact that you got this all done in Assembly and running on Gameboys is amazing. The game has a bit of a wonky detection system but other than that this is pretty darn brilliant.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]