December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

More Afraid of You

by TomSmizzle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I decided to make a game about a bad thing that happened to me from the other party's perspective in order to understand where they were coming from.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1102Coolness17%

Comments

lur says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:32am

Awesome!

Noyb says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24pm

Hahaha, I love the a capella buzzing soundtrack, always on the verge of descending totally into laughter, and the writing and graphics are quite cute. Text could be integrated a bit better: it either fully restarts or disappears almost as the line finishes being displayed depending on if you've stayed still, and tends to be occluded behind foreground objects near the end.

TomSmizzle says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:01pm

Yeah the problem with the foreground objects was something I only noticed quite late, and the text disappearing quickly was a function of some really baffling bugs that happened when I made the text stay. I decided cutting that out and finishing the game made more sense than troubleshooting. It's the Jam way.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:59am

SO funny XD loved how you laugh during the bzzz bzzz sound. Maybe text should have been faster

ddionisio says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:43am

Nice, best improv music! I couldn't help but laugh along :D I love the dialog and the twist in the end. I feel sorry for the guy! Going through and exploring was somewhat rewarding.

Nick Cash says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:25am

The laugh during the buzzing was quite funny, I'm glad you didn't edit it out!

rinaka says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Great soundtrack and nice narrative!

h.attila says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:03am

Very good! Funny game.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Oh my god, the bzzz sound is so funny. I really laughed... especially as you started to avoid laughing. Very funny experience.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]