Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Cancel Christmas! - tompudding - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hack into Santa's Grotto and delete the Naughty List!

Featuring realistic hacker shenanigans and literally seconds of voice acting!

Linux users can run the source directly if they have the packages python-pygame,python-opengl and python-numpy

Edit: It has been pointed out to me that some of the puzzles are frustatingly hard. I put a walkthrough up at https://raw.github.com/tompudding/cancelchristmas/master/walkthrough.txt if you are rubbish and want to get the answers given to you :)

Edit2: Link replaced with a bug-fixed version now that I know typo-fixes are allowed. I removed a debug statement that printed the correct pin to the console for the buffer overflow stage.

Edit3: Updated to fix a crash-bug and a typo-fix to allow different keyboard layouts to use it

View tompudding's journal. | View all entries by tompudding

Ratings

Coolness71%
#12Innovation4.16
#69Audio3.40
#86Overall3.57
#94Fun3.46
#128Humor3.26
#176Mood3.18
#271Theme3.43
#366Graphics2.94

Comments

Hapistorique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:06am

Nice game ! The hero is lacking animations, but the voice acting is the best thing I heard in 2012 ! :p

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:41pm

Nice this was different and as Hapistorique said lacked the animation.

Ramuh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:59pm

Seems nice. But I couldn't figure out where to go or what to do

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:01pm

Ingenious gameplay, very difficult.

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:18pm

These puzzles are nice and the first game I found with voice acting :D

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:19pm

Funny hacking skills ! Also, i laughed hearing voices :D

angela says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:07pm

I don't think the puzzles are working for me. I got through the first one, but couldn't get the others. I went to your site and entered the answers from the walkthrough, but still got access denied. It could TOTALLY be user error though. This was challenging and fun to play. Props.

pillbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Love it, but it really is hard, nice job Tom :P

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:43pm

I like this one its difficult but really quite fun, good job.

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:43pm

I'm beginning to think I might have slightly misjudged the difficulty of this game :(

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:47pm

I really enjoyed this one!! Well done sir, well done!

dwrensha says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:04am

I love anything with in-game code. This was great.

fussycashew says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:34am

Pretty awesome, I got stuck pretty early though. Had to get some help :P

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:46am

Got the first 4 letters and just brute-forced the last one and yay it worked! Cool idea, nice execution. Music indeed got annoying quickly, thanks for the off switch, nice voice samples.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:51am

Also, re: your walkthrough. To get answer 2 you can just enter the following in any browser console window and get the answer instantly, no math skills required! Brute force FTW!

for(var i=0; i<9999; ++i) { if (((i*77)+1435)%385600==124173) console.info(i); }

Slushy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Very cool!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:59pm

Cannot get that tune out of my head.

Udrian says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:43am

Seems like a nice entry, really like the voice acting ;P.. Though it is very hard to solve the puzzles because I have a different keyboard layout than the one in the game so I don't know where the keys are supposed to be! xP

BeigeBox says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Wish there was a Mac port... OH WAIT, THERE IS!

Ported to support Mac OSX 10.7+. No dependencies needed, just unzip and run the app.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/k1uuigubc7jh8wo/Cancel%20Christmas%20Mac%2010.7%20and%20up.zip

Logun says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:57am

I don't know if I am the only one with this problem, but your .zip have problems on my PC. Can't play :'(

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:49pm

Can't play windows/linux games. :-(

hnjslater says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:59pm

Brilliant game. Nice and hard.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:24pm

Good puzzles and audio!

Cosmologicon says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:07pm

I had a lot of fun with this, but yeah it's going to be extremely difficult for people with no hacking background. I got to try my first-ever SQL injection attack! (It didn't work, but oh well.) The terminal interface could have used a bit of work. A few times I found my cursor in a weird place overwriting previous attempts. It made it hard to work with. I would also have liked to have the terminal and the code view side-by-side.

dj_pale says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Nice (and hard!). Could have used some hint mechanism ;)

SuperDisk says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:49pm

I, too, brute forced the Modulo thing.
The SQL attack didn't work for me. I tried multiple times your walkthrough for that problem, but still no dice, with the response:

Unknown character "'"
I think this is the ' located in your original SQL query, so I couldn't change it :(

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:23pm

The idea is good and the goal is alluring.

I couldn't do anything than open the front door and listen to Santa. No clue what to do! I saw that there is a walkthrough but this game isn't that good to make me read...

Cryovat says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:35pm

One of the C quizzes was a bit too much for my tired and flu.ridden brain to handle, but definitely coming back to this one when my head is a bit clearer.

This is probably the most original take I've seen on the theme. The puzzles I did get were great brainteasers, and I was impressed by how authentic the SQL bit felt.

I also enjoyed the music. Great work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]