December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Red Hood

by OrangeeZ - Jam Entry

Little girl wanders around small village. She's gatherer, though what does she gather - lives or flowers - is up to you to decide.

WASD - movement
Shift - crouch
LMB - attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#35Graphics(Jam)4.15
#64Overall(Jam)3.50
#84Fun(Jam)3.19
#85Theme(Jam)3.65
#93Mood(Jam)3.20
#112Audio(Jam)3.15
#155Innovation(Jam)2.92
#191Humor(Jam)2.42

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:29am

This was so good, I really liked that feel and whole thing nice job keep it up ^_^

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:39am

This one was okay. It seems like it was originally meant for night and day, but I guess it still works. I really like the style you used for the graphics, and the sounds are pretty nice. It was fun for a short while, but then it started to get boring. All in all, its a pretty nice game, and I think more should be added to it.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:37am

I would really have liked to see more of a storyline in this one. It feels like you had a lot of big ideas that you didn't have the time to implement, but I think I can see where you were going with it.

Sadly I don't think I survived a single night. :)

Cthu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:18pm

Almost perfect! Just please lock the cursor.

iamorim says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:30pm

Amazing. I just had some issues with the mouse movement.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:34pm

I loved this. Fantastic job. Do you have a gamedev blog?

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:55pm

It's just gorgeous. High quality and decent scene. The only thing I wanna complain is that the goal is not so clear.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:15pm

@bigbadwofl nope, we don't :)

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:46pm

Nice game, liked the graphics. My only issue was that under wine I could not choose the resolution, and had to deal with a massive 3840x1080 dual-fullscreen :D Check it out here: http://cdn.imghack.se/images/09a51616f224b0bad9c9c1a1ec99048f.png

Codexus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Very nice game, the graphics are really cute, the way the little guys run away!
(just add cursor lock next time ;)

Sestren says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:55am

I'm pretty sure 3D Unity games used to play better on my machine, but for some reason, this Ludum Dare, I've been having no luck. I wish I could have played this game, because it looks and sounds great from what I can tell, but on my machine, the framerate is unplayably bad for some reason.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:01pm

@Sestren can you tell your machine specs please?

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:38pm

I did not read the description but started playing right away, and I was pleasantly surprised about the turn the game made once it became night :) Also very nice graphics and models. Really well done!

Oh and I put the jar file of my post-compo version, that you asked for on the page. Sorry to hear that you had trouble starting the applet for the post-compo version. If it still doesn't work please let me know (timtipgames(at)gmail.com)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:20pm

Great work! I can tell that quite a bit of work went into this over the weekend. I wish I could slice the grass. I wasn't exactly sure why I was collecting the flowers, I kind of wanted to see the flowers and the killing being linked (like psychedelic flowers).

Thanks for rating my game as well, and I'm glad you liked it! :)

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:29am

Liked the idea, graphics, and ambient sound, but I think it lacks a goal. Just stopped playing on day 5 with 17/15 deaths/flowers because I didn't know what that was for.

BTW I love the hamburger villagers concept! :-)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:26am

The graphics are quite impressive; definitely the best part of the game. The sound is well made, although there's quite a few sound effects "missing" (like footsteps, people, etc.).

The gameplay... well, it isn't clear whether there's a goal (like, keep going for a number of days or something) or not, and it does get boring somewhat quickly. Good of used some story too.

Also, there's some problems with the cursor. The web version's cursor isn't locked at all, making it impossible to play. If you Alt+Tab out of the Windows version the cursor will be unlocked as well.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:34am

Good atmos, but I was also curious if an ultimate end goal was reachable via the kills/flowers.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I'd like to have moved a bit faster and spawning back at the beginning every day means a good (slow) walk every day. A goal or reason of doing what I'm doing would be good too.

Art is good and the ambient sounds, tough sparse, are good too. Because of the polish of the visual style the game feels unfinished. Nice, but incomplete.

Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:22pm

This is lovely! nice work on the graphics and sound-background.

Took a bit too much to get off, I think. I also wasn't really clear what you're actually doing.

Still, awesome game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]