About | Rules and Guide
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 15 hours, 18 minutes, 41 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 15 hours, 30 minutes, 41 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 16 hours, 18 minutes, 41 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Ludum Dare: The Musical - ilo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    In order to play the part of the villain for the Ludum Dare Musical, you must sing the correct lines, or else something might just be dropped on your head. The correct line will both rhyme with the one before it and be suitably villainous.

    Made using Unity, Inkscape, GIMP, Blender, Aria Maestosa and Audacity.

    View ilo's journal. | View all entries by ilo

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #13Innovation4.14
    #17Audio3.79
    #35Humor3.75
    #63Mood3.54
    #97Theme3.82
    #101Overall3.53
    #134Graphics3.62
    #304Fun2.96

    Comments

    boxerbomb says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:53am

    Ives never seen a game like this. i like it

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:10am

    Charming illustrations and melodies. Funny and villainous lyrics in each menu. Bravo!

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:17am

    Dude, this is truly original! I think you'll get a good rating :)

    Arakade says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:41am

    Super! Awesome graphics -- possibly too good! Are you a villain?

    vociferocity says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:54am

    really charming! very cool concept :)

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55am

    This is pretty awesome. I dont think i can compare it to anything i've played earlier!

    uuav says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:21am

    Super original, ahah you got me singing my villain verses!

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:43am

    That was a cool experience, nice job!

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23am

    What a charming little game!
    Almost reminiscent of Monkey Island and the Insult Swordfighting.

    Ditto says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:51am

    Haha, great idea man! It's a bit slow(you could have sped up the 'moving forward' a bit imo) but those lyrics where really clever and entertaining!

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:22am

    Reminds me a lot of the Insult Sword Fighting in Monkey Island. Could be an interesting game for kids.

    Xheis says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:05am

    This was a really good game, well done! Fantastic score, good humour, good art, and perfectly innovative.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:26am

    I thought at the start I wouldn't like it, but I must admit it's a great game that left me laughing throughout. Good job.

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:42am

    This was a very different approach to what I'm used too I liked it and had a lot of fun and some giggles.

    feili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:57am

    That was really refreshing! =)

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:08pm

    So original!! Great game, well done!

    Hazel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:12pm

    Very charming and really original :) Looks and sounds great too.

    chribbe1 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:49pm

    I love it. Fun idea, great execution. Awesome work!

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:36pm

    I've never seen that in my entire life and it's good !

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:46pm

    Really unique premise, overall adorable game.

    chrismwaite says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:14pm

    This is my favourite so far by a long way. Very charming and had me audibly laughing ;)

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:11pm

    Very interesting approach, also having the sound "sing" the text is really nice, reminds me of some old console JRPGs. :)

    garygreen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:22pm

    What an original idea. :-)

    ilo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:02am

    Thanks for the encouraging comments!

    Having no known musical talent I'm not sure what possessed me to make this. About halfway through I was thinking, "Am I really going to do this?" as I didn't think it would be much of a game. But all in all I'm reasonably pleased with how it turned out. :)

    Serilyn says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:04am

    Reminds me of the opera portion of final fantasy VI. Love it.

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:30am

    Very cool. Could be an idea for a kids game.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:16pm

    Clap clap clap!
    Somehow it reminded me a bit of Monkey Island's battles.
    The lyrics were awesome.

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23pm

    It's fun to have this kind of game play, nice work!

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:36pm

    Adorable use of theme!

    caranha says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:53am

    It was a very cute game, very original, I liked the idea a lot :-)

    It was a bit on the easy side. Maybe instead of being an "all-or-nothing" you could have lines that gave you more or less penalty (or even removed some penalty!)

    Also, you should look into having some LD'ers read the lines for you in a post-compo version, that would be awesome!

    Thanks for the game!

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:09am

    Really funny, although I would have liked it if the responses were ranked as to how evil you are, and then you get a villain rating at the end to make it more of a "game"

    GFM says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:16pm

    Original idea, and nice take on the theme! =)

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:28pm

    Ah, monkey island. Well executed and polished. Well done to you.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:20pm

    Damn I sucked at this game :D. Very nice art. Good game!

    Strkl says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:19pm

    So fresh ! Amazing use of the theme, bravo !

    hypp says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    Nice concept, but gets a bit boring

    wombatica says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:46pm

    loved it, very fresh, good humour, clever. Simple artwork but it works.

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:14pm

    A most enjoyable throwback. Great writing (really kept the whole thing afloat) and use of music. It'd have been nice to seem a couple more props and some costume (accessory) changes for the leads, but given the time - great stuff.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:23am

    Very original game, and full of content! (at first I thought it would be MUCH shorter) This is a perfect compo game : simple, innovative, and complete! You got my voice sir.

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:20am

    (Aww, I was hoping the happy melody ending would be answered by an evil melody line.)

    I love it! I didn't actually want to try any games right now, but this one looked interested, so I opened it to take a closer look, and here I am having the game finished!

    The mechanic is nice. Is it inspired by the sword-fighting in Monkey Island? While it was easy at first, it actually grew harder and I made two mistakes.

    My favourite part is the music! There is no timer and I think there should be one, but the urge to keep the music flowing works as a good initiative to choose swiftly. Not many games manage to make me decide fast: I tip my hat to you, sir or madam!

    Certainly one of the most original games I have played here. Great job you did there!

    Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:37am

    I'm glad this was posted up on the blog, as it's one of the neatest entries I've seen. I played a second time just to see intentionally what would happen when the boom reaches the villain's head. :)

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    different of all I've played until today, but a bit boring.

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:19pm

    Wow, now that was inventive!

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:04am

    I had so much fun with this game. I really laughed out loud a couple of times.

    I really really liked it. Truly, I think you've found something great here, and there's a lot of potential, if you want to further polish it.

    jfroco says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:47pm

    Beautiful and original. Excellent entry. Congrats.

    Joseph Miller says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:12pm

    Waiting for the characters to move back and forth was tedious. The writing was pretty good, and I liked the overall idea, but it wasn't a terribly compelling experience. Loved the graphics, though.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:19pm

    It's the evil version of Celes' opera performance in FF6! Original and nicely carried out. Well done.

    lotusgame says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:54pm

    Really novel concept very well done done and polished. Impressive !!

    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:26am

    Brilliant! I kinda don't like you out of jealousy, but I love it, cheers!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]