December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Mr Toothy

by psychopsam - Jam Entry

I created this using ShiVa, UVUnwrap Pro, Lightwave, Corel, GIMP, GlueIT, GarageBand, and used a PC and a MAC.

You are the villain - a very hungry shark. Turn left and right by clicking left or right of the shark. Click up high to go fast (chews up food) or on the shark to slow down.

Use the triangles to locate humans to feed on. Gain the highest score before your food runs out.

If you get stuck you have either hit a rock or the edge of the level. Turn 180 and tap up at the top of the screen to move away. Enjoy!

I wanted to make so much more. Perhaps I'll flesh it out into a bigger game later. Hope you enjoy it.

CHANGELOG: (v1.1) 19/12/2012 - fixed bug so that turning and moving scaled depending on frame rate of players machine to make the shark move at the same speed on everyones computer. (30 second change to rotation * dt and translation * dt)

CHANGELOG: (v1.2) 21/12/2012 - converted controls to use left / right arrows to turn and up to speed up. Added some 3d cartoony rocks and encircled area with an atoll to keep player inside. You don't stop on rocks but they slow you right down, making for smoother game-play. You also stop completely to munch on humans before moving on. Please try out the new build but don't vote on that one obviously.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#119Humor(Jam)2.85
#119Audio(Jam)3.13
#137Theme(Jam)3.43
#145Mood(Jam)2.90
#146Innovation(Jam)2.95
#153Graphics(Jam)3.26
#209Overall(Jam)2.83
#211Fun(Jam)2.61
#817Coolness42%

Comments

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:50pm

Well, i think its all a matter of perspective. And the games is really weird. I really liked the sharks mouth animation!
Also the controlls are really really really hard to master. Why didn't you use the keyboard? I ate 1000 points worth of swimmers though :)

psychopsam says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:40pm

Thanks for playing. I used the mouse to make it a 1 button game.

Tyren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:52am

The controls were VERY sensitive to me. I found it was better when I clicked closer to the shark, but not much. Did you scale the speeds by elapsed time between frames?

Saisaith says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:33am

This is srsly amazing!

psychopsam says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:52am

@Tyren - whoops ! Forgot that part, so those with fast machine might find it unplayable. The movement increases in each direction as you click further away from the shark but I forgot to add the delta to support multiple machines - does this count as a bugfix that doesn't affect the conditions of entry?

Faust says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:58am

The idea is quite interesting, but the control is somehow weird to me, especially the acceleration seems to boost to an unbelievable level in a short time.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:13am

While I agree with timtipgames and understand where you're coming from but you could have made it a one-button game where you click and hold to move in the direction you want to go and it would have still been intuitive. Click and hold the mouse down further away to move faster even, if you wanted. The limitation of one button is no excuse for this extremely difficult control scheme.

The frame speed problem probably didn't help as the game ran blazingly fast and it was impossible to control the shark xD

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:20am

Interesting, and fun. Simple concept, and a decent execution. Personally I would've preferred arrow keys to move as well, but I can see the allure of just holding down the mouse button and moving it to change the way you're moving.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:07am

@ Faust - yes there is no interpolation from one velocity to another it is instant.
@ Cake&Coke - I like that idea - didn't occur to me at the time. In the future I'll change it to that.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:07am

CHANGELOG: (v1.1) 19/12/2012 - fixed timestep issue only, by scaling rotation and speed by the delta of each frame - an oversight.

tumoxep says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:12am

Awesome. Reminds me of Jaws Unleashed.
Has some problem with invisible barrier, thats why Mr. Toothy can't eat some guys :(

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:11am

i liked the concept, but the controls were janky as hell for me. sometimes i'd just randomly stop without warning, sometimes i'd move slow, and sometimes i'd move fast. when i felt like i was getting the hang of them something random would happen. it's a shame, too, cause i was getting into it otherwise.

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:17am

1327 points! I found the graphics neat, but just like the others the controls felt frustrating. It would have been so much more intuitive to allow to hold the mouse button!

Otherwise it's a good game, it gets a bit repetitive but the graphics and animations make up for that.

Elisée says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:26am

I ended up being stuck after eating a few swimmers (speeding up didn't work anymore) although there was no visible obstacle, and even before that speeding up worked really weird.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:32am

I wish I could change the control scheme but I can't since the release date has passed. I think if I put a marker or bouys or something at the edge of the world the player would have a better idea.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:53am

CHANGELOG: (v1.2) 21/12/2012 - converted controls to use left / right arrows to turn and up to speed up. Added some 3d cartoony rocks and encircled area with an atoll to keep player inside. You don't stop on rocks but they slow you right down, making for smoother game-play. You also stop completely to munch on humans before moving on. Please try out the new build but don't vote on that one obviously.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:51am

Would be nice to have some sort of transparent keypad like a tablet virtual pad. There seems to be no danger of running out of food. Mr Toothy is a very happy shark, indeed!

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:32pm

Cool idea. A bit tricky on my laptop's touch pad.

Nick Cash says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:24am

I was hoping to play a shark game at some point! Alas, here it is and it was quite fun. This was definitely one of the more complete and enjoyable entries I've played so far. A few shark noises or screams and it would be complete!

I definitely think changing to keys instead of mouse driven like you did for the post-compo is a good choice, although the mouse control was quite functional.

Very nice work :)

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Tricky controls and the triangles should show how far away the target is. The music is very nice! Good work!

valeroth says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Liked the graphics and sound and a good idea. Thought the controls could have worked better on the keyboard. Bit of a pain getting stuck on the invisible walls but overall a good game

AdricZero says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:05pm

Definitely innovative. Enjoyed the soundtrack. Not as much tension as Jaws but still good.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]